A run with some punks …

I think I need all the help I can get on Sunday to get somewhere close to my 51 minute goal time, so I’m enlisting a bit of punk and rock n’ roll to help me along the way. I’ve decided to run with iPod and have created a fast paced playlist that runs for a bit under 51 minutes. Here it is;

  1. Take a Long Line – The Angels
  2. Rain – Status Quo
  3. Roadrunner – Sex Pistols
  4. Crushing Day – Joe Satriani
  5. I Aint the One – The Angels
  6. Creepin’ Up On You – Status Quo
  7. No One Is Innocent – Sex Pistols
  8. Can’t Get Enough – Leanne Kingwell
  9. Rock N Roll High School – Ramones
  10. Call Me – Blondie
  11. I’m Stranded – Saints
  12. God Save The Queen – Sex Pistols
  13. We Can’t Be Beaten – Rose Tattoo

So, if I can get across the line before Angry Anderson stops singing, I know I’ve done ok.

I still hadn’t received my race number as of tonight so I had to drive into the MCG race office tonight to pick it up. A bit annoying having to drive into and out of the city in peak hour traffic, but I’m happier now I have it in my hands. I’m race number 24030.

With a late night last night and driving into the city tonight, today has again been a “no exercise” day. Let’s call it a taper!

Edit: Just watched Geoff Huegill win the Commonwealth Games 100m Men’s Butterfly in a CG record time. Huegill, 31, dropped 40kg in weight during his recent swimming comeback. Amazing effort!

13 Responses to “A run with some punks …”

  1. JH Says:

    Jo satriani a punk? Are you sure?

  2. Em Says:

    Only a punk playlist could fit 13 songs into 50 minutes!

    I love Geoff, such a lovely smile, it’s impossible not to be stoked for him πŸ™‚

  3. Tish Says:

    Hope your play list works for you. I’m showing my age to say I don’t know ANY of the artists or songs! And me, a music major. LOL

  4. Charlotte Says:

    Yeah, I’m not familiar with some of those songs, but love the Ramones and Sex Pistols. Might have to steal a few of your song choices for some oomph!

  5. Josie Says:

    Great playlist, and I loved how you timed it according to your race goal. I’m going to try that for my next race.

  6. AndrewENZ Says:

    I hope you have a blast!

  7. Dawn Says:

    Good play list. Have a good time.

  8. Karen Says:

    Music can make a huge difference. At the gym today when I was doing squats the perfect song came on to match the beat:)

  9. Ewen Says:

    Hi Andrew. I need another Melbourne blog to replace Em’s πŸ˜‰

    I saw Rose Tattoo play in Balmain a few years back. Well, more than a few. What’s also amazing about Huegill’s swim is that it was a PB. Most swimmers are well and truly retired by 31.

  10. Carla Says:

    My older sister was into the punk scene when we were younger! She used to take me to shows – they were CRAZY! But those were some good times!!!

  11. kathryn Says:

    Ha, you shoulda put some Rick Ashley on the end so if you didn’t finish in time, you’d be rick rolled for the rest of that. That’s be great motivation.

  12. Sharon Says:

    That swimmer is so inspirational! Hope your running great today πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

