Melbourne Marathon 2010 – 10km

Last year on this blog I gave the organisers of the Melbourne Marathon a bit of criticism (ok, a lot of criticism) after the debacle of the non-measured courses for the 5km and 10km races. So, it seems only fair, that after what seemed to me a very well organised race today, that I start this post by congratulating the organisers this year. Firstly, I crossed the start line at precisely 7:30am, the advertised start time, most unusual for any race. Secondly, with the exception of a short bit at the start, the course seemed fairly open and uncongested to me. Thirdly, I measured the distance as 10.03km on my Garmin, after I uploaded to SportTracks, this was adjusted to 10.00km, can’t get any closer than that. Fourthly, official results including lots of category and race summary information up on the web by late afternoon today. Lastly, lots of very encouraging volunteers all around the course! So, well done in 2010!

My morning started at 5am when the alarm went off, followingย a sleepless night after being woken at 12.45am and not really returning to sound sleep. Got away from home before 5:45am, and arrived to pick up Alex a little after 6am. An uneventful drive into the city and walk to the start area in Batman Avenue. There we watched the marathoners start and had time for a couple of warm-up jogs and stretches. My calf felt a little dodgy during the warm-ups, but fortunately was fine during the race.

Here’s Alex and I (I’m in blue), at the start.

We got started on time, and the usual start line congestion cleared after 300-400m and I was pleased to see a 5:07 split for the first kilometre, almost dead on goal pace. The only minor incident in the next couple of kilometres was running under the bridge on Sturt St when my iPod Shuffle came off my shorts and almost fell to the roadway. Fortunately the headphone cord didn’t come out so I just had to slow down and put it back on. I think I was pretty lucky because I just sort of got into a groove and it seemed like the crowd I was in were running at “my pace” so there was no real need to be dodging in and out much. It’s a fairly flat course, but some slight ups and downs, and I have to admit I did feel the ups a little bit. Over the rest of the race though I managed to keep most splits down under 5 minute pace, and was fine until the William Barrack Bridge. I have to admit to walking for about 10 secs up that, I think this was a bit of a mental lapse more than anything, but I soon got going again after a stern word or two to myself. The final stretch down Brunton Avenue seemed very long, as I was heading back to the MCG after the turnaround, I spotted Alex probably a few hundred metres behind me.

I have to say that my running playlist really worked for me, the fast paced music really helped, and when Angry Anderson started singing just as I entered the MCG I knew that I was going to make my goal time of 51 minutes.

I crossed the line with a watch time of 49:13, which was dropped 3 seconds to 49:10 when the official times appeared on the web site later.

Here’s the route.

Running into the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground, and Melbourne’s largest sporting stadium) is a nice feeling, that last lap around the ground lifts you up. Here’s Alex and I after the finish.

After the race we went and had a couple of coffees down on Federation Wharf with Cilla, who had also run the 10k.

My splits for the race (after SportTracks adjustment) were; 5:06, 4:41, 4:53, 4:59, 4:48, 4:48, 4:51, 5:03, 4:59, 4:57.

Statistics from the results on web site;

Finish net time – 00:49:10 (average time for my category Men 50-54 1:06:59)
Overall position – 702 out of 6,905
Gender position – 551 out of 2,844
Category position – 29 out of 155

I was a little sore directly afterwards (mainly quads), but now seem to have recovered completely, no knee or calf niggles at all.

So, overall a very good race for me, exceeded my expectations. I almost feel guilty given the almost complete lack of preparation.

17 Responses to “Melbourne Marathon 2010 – 10km”

  1. JH Says:

    Well done – you’re way up in the fast end of the field.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Top 10% overall is a magnificent effort mate – well done

  3. Sharon Says:

    Oh I loved reading that! Glad your playlist worked for you, I was inspired to make one for running after reading your blog entry about it…(mine is full of music you would be very unimpressed with! lol)

    Good news that your calf was good for the race and great photos ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. morseyruns Says:

    Great work Andrew. Sorry I missed you at the end- the shower beckoned me!

  5. katsmumblings Says:

    Well done Andrew.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Glad you made your goal time Andrew. Well done.

  7. sassydrcil Says:

    umm, I would hardly call a 140km bike race unprepared.

  8. kathryn Says:

    Nice work. You are well above average.

  9. M Says:

    Inspiring… I want to run marathons… what an amazing feeling at the end.

  10. Debbi Does Dinner Healthy Says:

    Very nice time! My brother just did a 10K yesterday in about 56 minutes. My kids each ran their first 5K! It was a gorgeous day and perfect for racing. Thanks for sharing about your race!

  11. Lee Says:

    Fantastic Andrew!!

    I was thinking about you guys in the morning and feeling really peeved that I missed out this year. I will definitely be back for next year’s MM ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Scarlett Says:

    Just awesome, great ending to a great day! Congratulations for such a smooth run, sorry I missed you!

  13. Josie Says:

    Congrats Andrew! How inspiring. How awesome that you beat your goal time too.

  14. Ewen Says:

    Nice race Andrew. Glad you got the organisers sorted — that was a disaster last year. I ran the 10 in ’08 and the new course looks better (less congested), avoiding the bike path bits beside the Yarra. Thanks for putting on good weather too (my friends who ran the half were raving about it).

  15. Jaykay Says:

    Sounds like you had a great race Andrew. And I love your playlist. I’ve got a 1/2 marathon one which is all upbeat songs ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. jojo Says:

    well done ajh- i knew you could ๐Ÿ™‚ remember i have seen you run!

  17. Em Says:

    Belated response – woo hoo, goal time

    Well done ๐Ÿ™‚

    You’re back!

Leave a Reply

