Hot 100 – Weekly update 4

Here is my week 4 update for the Hot 100 challenge.

  1. 2010 exercise goal.
    To continue to exercise regularly;
    – exercise on average at least 6 hours per week
    – maintain the intensity of exercise and burn an average of > 4,000 calories per week
    For the Hot 100 I’m going to stretch the goals a bit;
    – stay 10% ahead of both measurements by the end of 2010
    – succeed in both measurements in 12 out of the 15 weeks between now and the end of 2010
    This week 3.20 hours of exercise, for 1,994 calories. Averages year to date are 6.53 hours (8.8% ahead) and 4,409 calories (10.2% ahead).
    
  2. 2010 weight and body fat goal
    To continue to eat a sensible and balanced diet, and;
    – maintain my weight within the 70-75kg range
    – maintain my body-fat percentage within the 15-20% range.
    This weeks result is 71.1 kg (down 200g from last week) and 17.7% body fat. Year to date results; average 72.6 kg, minimum 70.9 kg, maximum 74.4 kg.
  3. 2010 bicycle distance goal
    To ride 5,000km in 2010
    This week 23 km, year to date 4,088 km, which is 157 km (or 11.5 days) ahead of schedule. 912 km left to reach 5,000 km.

So, a light exercise week – primarily due to the taper prior to the 10k race, and poor weather and lack of opportunity later in the week – means I was unsuccessful on my exercise goal this week. It also puts me below my “10% ahead” goal for exercise time. Also a light biking week, but still ahead of target. I guess the pleasing part though is that I managed to maintain my weight easily, even with a light exercise week.

Edit: 26km on the bike this afternoon, at an average speed of 26.3 km/hr.

5 Responses to “Hot 100 – Weekly update 4”

  1. Shane G. Says:

    Looks like you are on target sir. Just a little more luck would have put you ahead like you want to be.

  2. Karen Says:

    Good for you! I have had a light excise week as well since my husband (aka my biking partner) is out-of-town. I won’t ride without him. Too many flat tires or other issues I don’t know how to fix.

  3. Pippa Says:

    You seem super disciplined, Andrew, wow … RESPECT!

  4. Ewen Says:

    Andrew, I’ve missed it, but how does Hot 100 challenge work?

  5. Carla Says:

    I think you are doing awesome. I look to you for inspiration!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

