Memories …

My mum and dad came up for lunch today as a farewell lunch for Kate who is heading off overseas for a month next week, and as an early birthday lunch for Adrienne. We spent a while after lunch on the iPad looking up places in England on Google Maps/Streetview; places where they used to live as children, places we lived when we were children, holiday spots we’d visited, places where they worked etc. They, were a little blown away with the technology, something we sort of take for granted now and use often, but something that mum and dad hadn’t seen the power of. It was quite lovely really, seeing it bring back the memories from so long ago.

I headed out for a ride late afternoon after they left, just over 30km in about 1:15. I rode down the bike path towards work to check out a new detour that I’ll need to take if I’m going to head down the bike path to work, or into the city from my home. It is due to Western Ring Road bridge works and is going to be in place for about 2 years. They’ve built a new asphalt path up the side of the valley for the detour and it is really steep. Probably about 1km long, but really steep – all is above 10% gradient, with a lot of it 15-16%. I got up it ok, but struggled a little. I’m not sure I’m really looking forward to doing it on the way to work with my laptop/backpack on my back. I felt a little better going down the hill on the way home as there was another cyclist coming up the hill and he was younger than me and off his bike and walking up!

Ewen, the Hot 100 Challenge is being run by Steve over at his blog, LogMyLoss. It started a few weeks back when there were 100 days to go in 2010. Basically you just had to list some goals, then report weekly updates on your chosen goals and place a link to the weekly update posts in a comment on Steve’s blog. It has been a good way to make some new connections to other like-minded bloggers.

6 Responses to “Memories …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    Thanks Andrew. Interesting idea — hope you do well. I’m having a hard time coming up with one goal for 2011. 3 goals for 100 days would really have me scratching my head!

    Yes, the technology we have now is amazing. I love Google Earth.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Yep – the technology just blows you away – I’ve looked some of my old houses also, although I hardly recognise them nowadays.

  3. Tish Says:

    Oh yes, hills. You feel so good to make it to the crest and it feels sooo great to sail down them later.

  4. South Beach Steve Says:

    The connections are really one of the best parts of the Hot 100 in my mind. Of course, that is probably second to the progress people are making.

  5. AndrewENZ Says:

    Gotta love technology!

  6. Carla Says:

    That’s awesome that you were able to make it up that hill without getting off your bike!!!

Leave a Reply

