Exhilarating …

There is something very exhilarating about a great exercise session, surely to do with all those endorphins and dopamine produced by your body. It’s even better when you go into a session with a definite goal in mind, and you achieve that goal.

Tonight’s ride was such a session. I went out tonight determined to complete a 30 @ 30 ride, that is ride 30 kilometres at an average speed of at least 30 km/hour, for the first time this year. It was a nice sunny and cool evening, but I thought initially the wind may be a little too strong to succeed at my goal. However once I started riding I just felt strong, and the riding felt really fluid and easy. Funny how sometimes your body just feels more capable than other sessions, as I’ve struggled to sustain a lot lower speeds recently. I stayed local and just did some laps of a fairly flat 5km circuit around the local streets. There were a few other cyclists out, and without wishing to sound too arrogant, those riding in the same direction as me ending up “eating my dust” as I flew past them. There were a number of times when I saw other riders in front of me and used them as motivation to push a little harder. Overall a very, very satisfying hour of exercise.

Here are the stats from my Garmin, including the imperial version for my non-metric readers.

Edit: I love Highway Patrol, the cops on that show are my heroes, especially the ones who book the hoon drivers! Now, the only question is, how can I get them to visit my next door neighbors and listen to their noisy cars? Senior Constable Megan De Winne rocks!

6 Responses to “Exhilarating …”

  1. Debbi Does Dinner Healthy Says:

    Great job! I’m glad you did so well!

    What are hoon drivers?

  2. JH Says:

    I find sometimes if I start out thinking I’m going to have an average run, I do. But if I push myself to run fast from the start, even if I’m feeling crap, it turns out better.

  3. Carla Says:

    I loooove exercise too!!! I had that exhilarating feeling during my run today too!

  4. Ewen Says:

    Well done Andrew. That’s quick. The only time I ever got over 30kph was when I was doing triathlons many years ago.

  5. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Congrats. Now time for a 60@30 or at least a 35@30

  6. sassydrcil Says:

    hi there from HIROSHIMA.
    You have inspired me to get out for a run tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

