Hot 100 – Weekly update 7

Here is my week 7 update for the Hot 100 challenge.

  1. 2010 exercise goal.
    To continue to exercise regularly;
    – exercise on average at least 6 hours per week
    – maintain the intensity of exercise and burn an average of > 4,000 calories per week
    For the Hot 100 I’m going to stretch the goals a bit;
    – stay 10% ahead of both measurements by the end of 2010
    – succeed in both measurements in 12 out of the 15 weeks between now and the end of 2010
    This week only just under 1 hour of exercise, for 855 calories. Averages year to date are 6.41 hours (6.8% ahead) and 4,364 calories (9.1% ahead).
    
  2. 2010 weight and body fat goal
    To continue to eat a sensible and balanced diet, and;
    – maintain my weight within the 70-75kg range
    – maintain my body-fat percentage within the 15-20% range.
    This weeks result is 72.0 kg (up 200g from last week) and 17.5% body fat. Year to date results; average 72.5 kg, minimum 70.9 kg, maximum 74.4 kg.
  3. 2010 bicycle distance goal
    To ride 5,000km in 2010
    This week 26 km, year to date 4,399 km, which is 153 km (or 11.2 days) ahead of schedule. 601 km left to reach 5,000 km.

Very little exercise this week, only included the one bike ride last Friday (my exercise week runs from Friday-Thursday), so missed the weekly exercise goals, and also the 10%+ goal for both time and calories has now slipped under target too. Amazingly though the weight didn’t really suffer, doubly amazing when you consider I ate out every night while away in Singapore, and drank beer most nights. Probably fortunate that alcohol is ridiculously expensive in Singapore (a four beer shout was $50+), so this kept consumption to reasonable limits. I was pretty good though at breakfast and lunch, and avoided snacks (mostly, there was some nice cheesecake a couple of days, and a few chocolate snacks I did sample). Still ahead on the bike goal as I had a reasonable buffer up my sleeve.

I slept like the proverbial log last night, and slept in a bit this morning too. A bit of shopping later, as well as clipping the dog’s nails (always a two person job, I hold, Adrienne clips) and taking the dog for a walk around Craigieburn Lake. Then I got back on the bike (oh how I missed you) for a great 28km ride – it certainly was a beautiful afternoon for a ride!

Tomorrow is going to be busy again – entertaining the bosses again.

Lastly, an apology. I have been reading your blogs, but haven’t had much time to be commenting, will hopefully get back to normal service next week.

    __o
 _ \ {,
(_)/(_)

8 Responses to “Hot 100 – Weekly update 7”

  1. Dawn Says:

    I hate to clip the dogs nails. I leave that job to hubby….haha. I learned my lesson with that one.

  2. Karen Says:

    Ah, you clearly struck a nerve with dog nail clipping! I hated doing that and my husband hated his job of bathing ours. (Both sons were allergic so it should have happened often.) We finally gave in and our dog got a monthly “day of beauty” at the vet’s office. Glad you got back on your bike. I hope to get two rides in this weekend since the weather is nice here. My fair weather days are numbered.

  3. Tish Says:

    Welcome back–there’s no place like home (and one’s own BED), right? Good job with your goals this week. When you can’t, you can’t, but you held the line on the weight.
    Oh, I just noticed your little “biker” icon at the bottom of your post! Is it new? I love it. I confess that I also figured out that I could copy and paste it to my blog . . . do you mind?

  4. Ewen Says:

    Good news about the weight. I think I’d be drinking alone if beers were $50 a shout. I like your bike signature, but the tyres are flat 😉

  5. South Beach Steve Says:

    I wouldn’t let that red bother you a bit – I think you had a great week, especially for being out of town.

  6. Veronica Says:

    As a person that always has to force myself to work out, I wonder what it’s like from your point of view: did you enjoy your time off the bike or were you really ready to jump back on? You seem to be someone that truly enjoys physical activity. I enjoy the results but hate to actually move. I think I was supposed to be a sloth and somehow my soul got mixed up with another and there’s a really active and intelligent sloth somewhere out there. 😉

  7. teresa Says:

    It’s always so inspiring to come here and read your updates. And it always makes me want to ride a bike!

  8. Michele Says:

    Just found you through the Hottie Challenge. Love your cycling records. Wow! I am impressed. Michele

Leave a Reply

