A day in Burnie

A business trip down to Burnie today. For those unfamiliar with Australian geography, Burnie is on the North-West coast of Tasmania, about an hours plane flight south of my home town of Melbourne. As usual I flew with Regional Express, on their 30-seater SAAB aircraft. Fortunately, two of the smoothest flights I’ve had down to Burnie, although the flight home took longer than scheduled, head-wind maybe?

My bosses head off to India tomorrow, so work returns to some measure of normality for me, but I’m sure that after being effectively out of the office for over a week there’ll be plenty of catching up to do.

This last week was the first time I’d met my bosses boss, as he has just taken over responsibility for the Asia Pacific region. Like my boss, he is a down-to-earth, easy-to-get-along-with person. Also like my boss he seems to be a person of high integrity with lots of drive. It really makes it easier when you are working for people who you respect and admire. The meeting in Singapore also gave me the opportunity to meet many of my peers from China and India that I haven’t met before. I think this will make working relationships easier and more effective.

So, whilst there is still tough times ahead, and mountains of work to do, I am feeling somewhat re-energized to tackle it.

No exercise again today, I’m going to have to try hard to get back in the groove.

5 Responses to “A day in Burnie”

  1. Cilla Says:

    always greases the wheels when you have a beer or five or coffee with people. put a name to a face etc.

  2. JH Says:

    At least the engine wasn’t on fire

  3. South Beach Steve Says:

    It is so hard to get back in the groove, even after just a week or so of being out of it. While it is hard, the best way out is to just make ourselves do something. You can do it AJH!

  4. Call Me Ishmael Says:

    Makes a huge difference when your bosses are quality people, I think. I don’t have that situation, unfortunately, and it’s a huge amount of mental and emotional energy I have to invest every week to stay cool under their pressure. Do you get to travel a lot? I’m envious of your proximity to such fascinating places!

  5. Ewen Says:

    Burnie’s a nice town. I was there some years ago for the 10k — bit of a boring race though — out and back on the highway. I don’t like small planes, but I think I’d rather fly in the SAAB than a Qantas A380!

Leave a Reply

