A surprisingly dry Sunday …

After all the weather forecasts for the last few days I was expecting another wet day today, so when I woke up and saw that it was dry I decided to head out for a ride, a good 31 km ride at about 27 km/hr speed, just around the local streets.

After a nice fruit salad and yoghurt breakfast we did a little spot of gardening, mulching our tomato plants and planting some zucchini, silverbeet and lettuce plants. Then we headed out to the shops. I needed some beer and decided to try a couple of six packs from Aldi, one New Zealand and one Aussie. One was $9 and the other $10, so considerably cheaper than the “name brand” I’d normally buy, and quite drinkable (yes, I did try one of each tonight). We also bought a cheap cask of an Aussie tawny port and one bottle of cheap red to try. I made myself a delicious salmon salad for lunch, and we’ve just had a nice BBQ roast chicken and vegetables, so it’s been a good eating day today.

While the chicken was roasting, and with the weather still fine, I headed out for a run, the same 8km loop as usual at 5:31 min/km  pace. So, a double dose of exercise today.

A couple of hours of relaxing in front of the TV, with maybe some Aldi port and chocolate, will finish off a nice relaxing Sunday.
              o_
o__       \/\ |
 ,} /_        /\/
(_)\(_)      \

8 Responses to “A surprisingly dry Sunday …”

  1. Call Me Ishmael Says:

    Tawny port? Sounds divine. Hope it tastes as good as its name! You’ve had a great day. Makes me happy just reading about it.

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I didn’t realize you had Aldi there! Most of the stuff at US-Aldi is junkie, but they have a decent meat and veggie section.

    Glad you had a great weekend after a somewhat stress-y week!

  3. Eat Em Says:

    Good morning for a ride ..

    Michelle & I did the ConnectEast Eastlink Ride … 75kms of open freeway 🙂
    High average speed for the trip from Ringwood to the turn at Carrum Downs – then a bit slower back up … 😦

  4. JH Says:

    Aldi Tawny Port? I might give that a miss.

  5. Sharon Says:

    Oh I love Port, I used to buy one in Adelaide that had chocolate infused but I can’t find it anywhere else.

    I have never been to Aldi before but notice there is one in the area we are moving too soon so will check it out

    The veg garden sounds great – wish I had the motivation to do something like that

  6. Lee Says:

    Sounds like you had a splendid day, living like a King 🙂

    I have never shopped at Aldi but hear so much about it!

  7. Ewen Says:

    Good double Andrew. Send some of that fine weather up this way will you?

    Thanks for the beer tip. I’ll have to see how it compares to VB.

  8. jojo Says:

    love the running man and cyc-LIST

Leave a Reply

