Steep ascent …

I have mentioned a few times before on this blog the new detour on the Moonee Ponds Creek bike path, and the steepness and difficulty of it. I was interested to see an email today sent by my local bicycle user group (HumeBUG) to our local member of parliament complaining about the usefullness and safety of this detour, that is planned to be there for two years whilst major Western Ring Road bridge / road works are completed.

Amongst other things the letter says, “The intensity of the climb has largely put paid to casual and recreational riders. Only the most experienced riders have the capacity to traverse the steep detour.” As I’ve said previously, I can get up the climb ok, more difficult with my backpack/laptop on board, but can manage it ok, but have seen a few bikers walking up it.

When riding up the climb, my Garmin hits a maximum 17% gradient, but analysis of the downloaded data (told you I was a geek) shows the middle (and steepest part) of the climb is about 13.5%, with the average gradient being about 9.5%. The total length of the climb is only about 350 metres.

Just in case any of you are planning rides out the north-west, I thought I’d highlight where this deviation is, using some maps from my ride today.

The green square shows the area where this detour occurs. This area is expanded in the next map.

The blue line shows the old part of the path, that ran under the Western Ring Road, which is now inaccessible. The green ellipse highlights the new steep path up the side of the valley.

This is the view from the bottom of the hill. It doesn’t do the steepness justice though, as the steepest section, in the middle of the climb is just around the corner from the crest that can be seen here.

So, if you’re riding the Moonee Ponds Creek bike path, be ready for this new challenge! My ride today was just over 30km in 1:12.

Another long night yesterday, again starting at 1am, but not getting home until about midday due to another meeting I had to attend. Got home, had a few hours sleep, went for my ride, had dinner, caught a couple hours of TV, another couple of hours of sleep, and now back in the office for another “night shift”.
    __o
 _ \ {,
(_)/(_)

2 Responses to “Steep ascent …”

  1. JH Says:

    You bike riders are soft!

  2. Tish Says:

    Guess I’ll have to avoid that bit for the present! LOL I’m loving finding new bike trails, though. I’m also getting a little more knowledgeable about evaluating them. I still like flat best, but can manage some hills.

Leave a Reply

