Metallica – review

Last night’s Metallica concert was loud and magnificent. Chris is the true Metallica fan in the family, but I have to say I can understand why after seeing them live for the first time. They are a great band.

James Hetfield has to have one of the most unique voices in the business and he did an excellent job on all the songs they played. He and Kirk Hammett are masters on their many guitars as is Robert Trujillo on the bass. Lars Ulrich displays plenty of talent and energy on the drums too. It is amazing that four guys can make so much noise!

The stage setup was excellent too, with a great light and laser show, lots of smoke and flames, and even black beach balls for the whole crowd to bounce around the stadium at the end. The band worked all four sides of the stage well, ensuring everyone in the Rod Laver Arena was satisfied.

The set list changes nightly and includes a great mixture of new and old. For me, “Nothing Else Matters” was my favourite. Their music, whilst loud and heavy, has a lot of intricate and impressive elements to it as well.

Metallica certainly have a strong, loyal fan base, and it’s easy to see why. The way Hetfield addresses them shows great respect. When introducing the band he ended with ” … and together along with you (indicating the crowd) we all make Metallica”. The crowd was constantly referred to as the “Metallica family”.

So, powerful, loud and musically impeccable is my summary – and a great night with my son.

Unfortunately, as soon as I got home, it was back out to work again. On the bright side, the expected 1am-9am meeting actually ended early and I was back home about 7:30am and slept until after 2pm. After some brunch, I headed for a ride, a similar circuit to Wednesday, 31.5km in 1:16. Annoyingly I ran over some discarded chewing gum at some point and it went everywhere, strung itself around my wheel hubs, got over my tyre and brake pads, so I’ve just cleaned all that up and gave my chain a good clean at the same time.

Looking forward to normal sleep patterns tonight!
__o
_ \ {,
(_)/(_)

5 Responses to “Metallica – review”

  1. Metallica – review « Andrew's Blog Says:

    […] is the original post: Metallica – review « Andrew's Blog Related Posts:Metallica Live Review Of Brisbane Entertainment Centre Concert For … It was […]

  2. Tweets that mention Metallica – review « Andrew's Blog -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Danny Vardy, MetFan. MetFan said: Metallica – review « Andrew's Blog http://dld.bz/7gs2 […]

  3. Ewen Says:

    That would have been a great night. I see they had fires burning about the place to keep the Metallica family warm 😉

  4. kathryn Says:

    I went to a very different style of concert last night (j-pop) but definitely had the respect for the fans. It really does make a difference. A couple of years ago I went with my sister to see Conor Oberst (US indie/emo singer). She was a huge fan before the concert but he was performing like he was punching the time clock and really didn’t want to be there! She was so disappointed and never really liked him that much after that.

  5. Carla Says:

    I LOVE Metallica!!!!!!! My hubby and kids love them too. Their last album was absolutely FANTASTIC. You are so lucky you got to see them in concert!!! Nothing Else Matters is a work of genius!!! (Sorry for all the exclamation points!)

Leave a Reply

