Why don’t you see Claret any more?

I opened an old bottle of wine tonight. A Redman Coonawarra Claret 1989. Yep, a 21 year old bottle. Given that my wine “cellar” is just a wooden rack in my living room, I really wasn’t sure if it would be any good, but it is bloody beautiful! Now, to my question, why don’t you see Claret as a wine type any more? Is it one of those names we’re not allowed to use now because they represent a particular place (France?) and are copyrighted? Anyway, the main thing is, I got a very pleasant surprise that it was very drinkable – I’d expected to be chucking it down the drain. My oldest bottle is a 1979, I wonder if it’ll be ok?

I just upgraded the OS on the iPad to v4.2 tonight. Seems to have worked okay, but it appears that my wireless printer doesn’t support Apple AirPrint which is a pain.

I was going to ride to work today, but slept in. So I went for a 50 minute ride after work. Very hot and windy again. I’m sure that it didn’t balance out (calorie-wise) the beer and takeaway pizza I had for tea. Oh well, not to worry.
o__
,}  /_
(_)\(_)

4 Responses to “Why don’t you see Claret any more?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Upgraded the ipad today too – good to be able to sort icons into folders and multitask but have not tried anything else yet…

  2. Em Says:

    My first thought when I saw the heading was A Clockwork Orange, that’s they last time I saw/heard the word Claret.

  3. Ewen Says:

    Similar to my wine rack, except mine’s metal 😉 Now, if you were talking beers…

  4. morseyruns Says:

    Mum is getting Dad an ipad for Christmas- he only just learnt how to text! You make it sound so simple- I hope it is!

Leave a Reply

