Goodbye 2010 …

Well, another year is officially gone, and it certainly ended on a hot note with today getting to 41.1 celcius (106 fahrenheit) here in Melbourne.

For me, workwise it has been an incredibly difficult year, with reduced staff and increased workload it has been a tough job keeping people (and myself) motivated. The retrenchment of a number of long-time workmates, and the death through cancer of another also contributed a feeling of “is this really all that important” for me. Of course my job and career is important, and don’t get me wrong, I think I work for a great company, and have a great team working for me, but really, is it much more than how you pay the bills? A couple of overseas trips and lots of late night meetings added workload. Significantly, I celebrated my 30 year service anniversary in January, so I guess I can’t think it is all that bad, can I? 2011, unfortunately is just looking like it might get even harder.

Family wise, I continue to marvel at how Adrienne has put up with me for so many years. This year would have been even more difficult with me getting home more stressed from work than usual! I also continue to watch proudly as both my kids continue on towards their respective careers and grow into young adults who are both a credit to us.

From a health and fitness perspective it has been a pretty good year with most of my goals and targets met. I also celebrated my 5-year anniversary of maintaining my “target weight” in August, a significant achievement for me. The shift from less running to more cycling definitely continued this year, and I’ve felt better for it. I managed through a few calf and knee issues early in the year, and reduced running volumes has definitely helped keep these at bay. I’ll still keep running, and doing a few favourite races, and setting some running related goals, but I think the bike is much more suitable for my aging body! A bout of ezcema, which still continues to bother me has kept me out of the pool during most of the year, and I’m missing that, I found my swimming quite relaxing. I’ve also been managing a slightly sore back and that has reduced the number of home strength workouts I’ve done in the last few months. I think though that it has been a very consistent year of exercise for me (in fact the biggest ever from the point of view of calories burnt in the six years I’ve been keeping my training journal), so I’m pleased with that.

Diet wise, the biggest change for me was prompted by reading Mark Sisson’s Primal Blueprint. I am nowhere near “primal”, but his theories have definitely changed my diet with a lot less consumption of breads and grains and less “guilt” about eating meat and fats. Perhaps the biggest change for me has been breakfast which used to always be either cereal or bread based and now is more often fruit, vegetables, smoked salmon, eggs or something similar.

Discovering ReWine (the wine merchant at the Victoria Market) possibly contributed, along with the work stresses, to me drinking a little too much. I’m thinking recently that maybe I’m over consuming on my red wine, drinking one or two glasses most nights. I think in 2011 I’m going to try and reduce this somewhat. Perhaps even some red wine abstinence months?

Around the house, we made some good improvements outside with a lot of the outside of the house repainted, the deck re-stained, some vegetable gardens added and some new lawn edging. With the recent rains, I can’t believe how good the lawns are looking too. Still plenty to do though.

Two new bits of technology this year have been fun. Firstly I love my iPad and use it daily! Secondly, my Garmin Edge 500 bike computer has added something to my riding too!

We had two holidays in 2010, firstly up to the Sunshine Coast, and secondly more recently down to Tasmania again. Both were nice, but unfortunately the Tassie holiday was interrupted a little by sickness and bad weather. We’ll just have to make up for that in 2011, won’t we!

Music continues to be important to me, and after my exercise is probably my second most important stress release mechanism. Whether it is on a run, during a home workout, doing the dishes with iPod on or just in the car on the way home from work, some loud rock and roll always does wonders for my mood. This year I got to a few more concerts than normal too, seeing Status Quo, Deep Purple, Metallica, Pink Floyd Experience and Glenn Shorrock.

Just like the last few years, all of you lovely people out there in blog-land have continued to be incredibly supportive and motivating. Reading your blogs and your comments on mine have encouraged me and given me lots of new ideas and thoughts. This year has seen me make a number of new blog friends too which has been great, and I have to give a special mention to Steve’s Hot 100 Challenge as it was a primary mechanism for this, introducing me to a lot of great people.

So, happy new year to you all, I hope 2011 is a safe, healthy and successful year for you and your families. Keep up the healthy lifestyle, remember consistency is the key!

8 Responses to “Goodbye 2010 …”

  1. Karen Says:

    5 years! Good for you! I’d have to jump up and down to just stay there for 5 months, once I get back there again:( Thanks for your support during the challenge, Andrew. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and am impressed with your biking. Have a fabulous New Year!

  2. Tish Says:

    What a great recap. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you through our blogs this year. Wishing you and yours a very Happy New Year. I’ll be back tomorrow for more insight and inspiration.

  3. Sara Says:

    Happy New Year Andrew! Hope you continue to maintain your health and weight ……….and that Andrienne continues to put up with you 😉

  4. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Five years is so awesome! I look forward to following in your foot steps…er, wheel tracks…whatever! 🙂 You continue to inspire and uplift me, and I appreciate you so much for that.

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

  5. jojo Says:

    you are very good at sticking to your goals, Andrew. I am about to have 2weeks(maybe four of not drinking) and just doing an all round detox

  6. shells Says:

    Happy new year, Andrew! Congrats on your 5 years, I find you inspiring! Last year got quite hectic for me and my previous blog lapsed, but I’m back again with a new blog here: http://sickofbeingsoft.wordpress.com/

  7. Bill Wallace Says:

    Mate, awesome year for you and always a great read. Love hearing of your exploits and even the commitment you have to your job. Great work. Looking forward to keeping up in 2011.
    Best regards
    Bill

  8. Ewen Says:

    Can’t beat you there Andrew. I was in Wagga and it ‘only’ got up to 39. It’s taking me a while to catch up on blogs. Hope 2011 is good for you in all ways. Will be looking out to see how you go.

Leave a Reply

