Outnumbered

I think I have a new favourite sit-com. It is an English program called Outnumbered. It is about the Brockman family of South London where the parents are outnumbered by their three energetic, inquisitive and rather unruly children. What makes it so different is the kids that play in it, they are tremendous. The producers have taken a different approach, in that the three child actors are not given lines to say, rather they are briefed on the scene and allowed to improvise. They are all very good at this, and it results in dialog that seems a lot more natural than some shows. My favourite is seven year old Karen, played by Ramona Marquez who is absolutely gorgeous, and asks the most wonderful questions of her parents.

If you haven’t seen Outnumbered, give it a try. In Melbourne it screens on ABC1 at 9pm on Wednesday nights.

We really enjoyed The King’s Speech movie last night, one of the best movies I have seen for a long time. Geoffrey Rush, Colin Firth and Helena Bonham Carter were all very good. Ramona Marquez from Outnumbered also featured, playing a young Princess Margaret.

We had some pork spare ribs on the BBQ tonight which were very nice for a change, then afterwards I went for a ride on the bike, just over 26km in an hour.

I’ve added another goal to my 2011 list, under the “Other Goals” category. It is “To complete the exterior painting of my house (that I started last summer) by the end of March 2011 (at the start of the year I have 9 windows and 3 doorways to paint).” There, now I’ve written it down, I might get off my backside and get it finished.

4 Responses to “Outnumbered”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Outnumbered is a classic – I loved last weeks wedding when she asked about all the brides previous boyfriends!

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I only have access to BBC America. I’ll have to see if that show’s one of the ones I can view!

  3. Em Says:

    That young child is adorable, as someone who isn’t nor intends to be a parent I still find that show immensely watchable. Look out for the episode where they are at the airport in spain trying to get home from their holiday.

  4. Jaykay Says:

    Bummer. It’s 10pm on Wednesday night and I’ve only just read that the show is on at 9pm!! Maybe next week!

Leave a Reply

