Fat is good !

We have all been brought up to think that fat is bad, especially saturated fat. Eating fat makes you fat, eating fat clogs your arteries etc etc

As I said on my 2010 summary post, one of the things that changed my diet last year was reading Mark Sissons, “The Primal Blueprint”, he convinced me that it is really grains, refined carbohydrates and sugars that are the main enemy, and that fat of most kinds is neccessary and good for you. I also read “Good Calories, Bad Calories” by Gary Taubes (well, to be honest, I haven’t quite finished it yet, it is a hefty tome) and it not only strongly supports the same, but clearly shows how we (the general public) have been misguided by our governments and health authorities for years, based on severely flawed theories and studies.

So, this changed my diet during 2010, trying to eat less grains and refined carbs, eating more vegetables, fish, meat (including fat), and I’ve been feeling better and stronger, and seem to have been able to more easily maintain my weight.

I was interested to read Charlotte Hilton Andersen’s post “My Great Dietary Fat Experiment: How eating more fat made me healthier” yesterday. If you can’t be bothered reading either of the books above, go check out this post which shows what effect “eating a crap-ton of fat” for a year has had on her health and her blood test results. You may be pleasantly surprised and start to believe that fat is good!

A 23km bike ride tonight was enough in the heat.

644! Not a bad score eh?

9 Responses to “Fat is good !”

  1. darnfitness Says:

    I agree! Plus, the extra fat makes the meals really yummy (who said bacon?)

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I made the mistake of eating too little fat when I first started losing weight, and it showed in my skin and hair. I’m better about it now, but it’s still something I need to focus on for improvement. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Veronica Says:

    Totally! I’ve never heard that grains were bad (unless they’re refined), but I do know that the food pyramid was messed with to include to many of them to help out farmers. At least here in America. But fat, at least the good ones, we need them! I’ll go check out that post.

  4. Veronica Says:

    *too* many of them. typo.

  5. sassydrcil Says:

    Naturally, I am suspicious of something that flies in the face of extensive research. There is evidence that heavy (ie that proposed by Sisson) red meat intake increases the risk of colorectal cancer. The results are cherry-picked.
    I think that the truth is somewhere in between the extremes of the food pyramid and what Sisson et al publishes.
    I think we eat too many refined carbohydrates, and too few fruit and vegetables.
    I like Michael Pollan’s (In defence of food) attitude: Eat Food. Not too much. Mostly Plants.
    Long live Avocado. And butter. And berries.

  6. Bill Wallace Says:

    644??? what’s that? Almost football season! 😉

  7. Bill Wallace Says:

    Sorry. also meant to mention that i am looking forward to following you around France, it’s in my diary …

    Will have to check out Sisson’s book too, sound interesting ….

  8. Ow! — Bill's Training Blog Says:

    […] Daily Apple – more motivational reading. Also downloaded the Reader Created cookbook. Thanks Andrew for posting about […]

  9. AndrewENZ Says:

    I’m making an effort to get rid of refined carbs as well. I think a bit more fat is good.

Leave a Reply

