The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I’m a big fan of Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy, and I rarely find a movie of a book, that I think does the book justice. I’ve also not watched a sub-titled foreign movie for ages. So, it was with some trepidation, and expectation of disappointment that I sat down and watched The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo last night on DVD.

What can I say, wow, what a tremendous movie. Very true to the book, and excellent in every way. Both leads were terrific, especially Noomi Rapace who played Lisbeth Salander, one of the most unique and interesting fictional characters I’ve read recently. So, today, we went to JB Hifi and bought the second movie, The Girl Who Played With Fire.

73.3kg this morning at weigh-in, a whole 2kg heavier than last week, but within target range. I can’t really explain the fluctuation.

Most of the day has been spend working outside again, mowing and painting – sound familiar? A short bike ride tonight, only about 16km. The knee is still a bit sore, but getting better I think.

6 Responses to “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”

  1. katsmumblings Says:

    Great weather for mowing & painting… even better for sitting and relaxing.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    I LOVE that series, so electrifying, loved the first movie too. Might have to get the second movie.

  3. Ewen Says:

    Thanks for the recommendation Andrew. My training partner Ruth is a big fan of the books. I must get onto them (and see the DVDs after!).

  4. Pippa Says:

    Read the first book in the trilogy, loved it, and thinking that, yes, perhaps I should venture to watch the film, then. I’ve been entertaining the same fears as you, expecting to be disappointed. I’ve heard some scenes are quite intense, though. But after this recommendation, Andrew, I think I’ll get the DVD, too!

  5. sassydrcil Says:

    2 kg weight gain in a week? Must be that time of the month 😛

  6. Sverige Says:

    The direction and acting in this American version was superb. Although the storyline did not follow the book in every aspect it did deliver a most worthy effort afforded by the time frame of the movie. It was true to the heart of the book and the scenes themselves developed the story with visual clarity seldom seen today. Rooney’s performance is worthy of an Oscar.

Leave a Reply

