A day off, a ride and a run (sort of) …

Today was a day off work, and I started it off with a ride after breakfast. I had planned an earlier start and a longer ride, but that didn’t happen, it was just too warm and snuggly in bed. I ended up heading out a little after 8am, and headed down the Moonee Ponds Creek trail, for a little over 27km ride.

A lazyish morning followed, and Adrienne and I headed out for a bit of a naughty lunch at Max Brenner (waffles with strawberries, chocolate sauce and ice cream). We stopped in at Borders (Highpoint), and I have to say it is going downhill fast in my opinion – maybe struggling against the internet competitors? Many shelves empty, most pretty disorganised and seemingly lots of junky gadgets and homewares. Anyway, I couldn’t find anything I wanted to buy, so it was a cheap shopping trip.

Things got more expensive in the afternoon though when we went to Bunnings and ordered a water tank and a new mailbox. Both needing to be ordered because we wanted the same colour as the paint I’ve been using on the outside of the house. I also bought some rust preventing paint, as I realised I have to add the cast iron railing on our front steps to the painting list. We also sussed out what we need to buy to build the foundation for the water tank – there’s another job on the list that will need to be done in the next two weeks (that’s when the tank is supposed to be delivered).

Before dinner I headed out for a run. The plan was to try and pick up the pace a bit from the other night, but shorten the distance to 6km. As soon as I started I knew the “pick up the pace” wasn’t going to happen as I had a fair bit of pain in my left (good) knee. So, the first couple of kilometres was a bit of run/walk, with “will I turn around and go home” thoughts. I decided to press on, but took a different course that would shorten the distance to about 4.5km. After while though the knee pain lessened, but my quads were feeling sore (tired from overuse sore, not bad sore). As I neared the end of the run, I added on another little loop that brought the total to just under 6km, so I felt better that at least I’d done the distance I’d planned, even if the pace (including all the walking) was a lot slower than last night at 5:55 min/km.

I’d forgotten how hard this running lark is, maybe I’m better suited to cycling.

I just did all the software updates on the iMac, which includes the latest OS upgrade that adds the App Store – could be dangerous!

5 Responses to “A day off, a ride and a run (sort of) …”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    You are just out of practice. It is hard to get back into. Did you warm up?

  2. Twocatz Says:

    You will be flying along in no time at all

  3. Karen Says:

    In the back of my mind I think I may try running again. Okay, for me it would be a slow jog:) But then I think about everything that aches and wonder if it is worth it. Gotta love the non-impact of the bike.

  4. katsmumblings Says:

    I don’t think it matters if you run less, with all the riding you do. Two sessions in the one day are hard too. It could have been the reason that the run felt so hard.

  5. Ewen Says:

    What sassydrcil said. Running’s not hard if you do it every day.

Leave a Reply

