Black …

Had planned a ride this morning before work with Deb and Voj, but both pulled out on me late last night. I was going to still get up early and go for a longer ride but my mojo deserted me and I stayed in bed.

Today was one of those days at work where meetings seem to merge into one another and occupy the whole day, today that even included lunchtime as seems to be the case on an increasingly large percentage of the days recently. What’s worse is I seem to be inexorably falling into a black hole of “stuff to do” with nothing much getting done each day. I think I could work 24 hours a day for a week and still not catch up. Right now though I am not in a place where I feel like working too much at night. I am getting a bit depressed i think.

Haven’t really been feeling much like eating either, I guess that’s better than consuming heaps of junk in response to feeling like this, because I know that would just make me feel worse. Just a home workout tonight, but not an altogether inspiring one.

6 Responses to “Black …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Time for another holiday? Or time to tell someone that you are drowning at work maybe?? I hate that feeling- I do 10 x tenths of 10 things and none of it good- time to start delegating or changing the way I prioritise when I feel like that.

  2. twocatz Says:

    Sounds like i need to teach you my task management plan – it works on a three week cycle. What hasn’t been finished, looked at or resolved when its been in my in tray or inboc for three weeks gets deleted or shredded. If the person who sent it to me hasnt chased me for an answer inside three weeks i work on the principle it wasn’t that important. If they really want the answer they will send you a reminder, then its time to do it. Playing catch up never works, all you do then is miss things that do need to be done inside three weeks.

    Throw everying in the bin and start with a clean slate!!

  3. Carla Says:

    I am in the exact same situation at work. The boss tells me that I need to hurry up with certain projects, but then proceeds to waste my time in other ways. It’s quite frustrating!!!
    Please don’t get depressed. Maybe you need a short holiday to help get you through the next few weeks πŸ™‚

  4. Pippa Says:

    Take good care of yourself, Andrew, and catch the blackness before it becomes overwhelming. Perhaps you can take that camera of yours and hunt light this weekend, balancing out your life again against all the To Do Stuff.

    What works for me right now is remembering that I can only do ONE thing at a time – multitasking is a myth, anyway – and then to identify that ONE thing, and focus on only that, as far as I am able to.

    It’s become a mantra for me: What is the ONE thing right now?

    All the best, you’re in my thoughts for some breathing space!

  5. sassydrcil Says:

    I will give you a call, mate.

  6. Rachael Says:

    I think these down days are part of our journey. It helps me to appreciate the great days. Writing about it and being aware that you are having a down day is one of the best ways to bring yourself out of it. Hope your having a great weekend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

