Book Review – Bike for Life

Bike for Life: How to Ride to 100
by Roy M. Wallack and Bill Katovsky

Would you like to be able to ride 100 miles when you are 100 years old? I know I would. This book claims to be able to show you how.

It is an interesting book, and very complete. It contains chapters on bike technique; nutrition; bike fit; training and goal setting; common cycling injuries and all the things you would expect. It adds a lot of other topics though that are not quite so common like motivation and mental training; cycling and impotence; staying safe on your bike and even how to solve the relationship issues when one member of a spousal partnership is a significant cyclist and the other isn’t.

It certainly does not suggest that cycling is the complete answer to keeping fit into your elder years, even containing a chapter describing the dangers of osteoporosis for cyclists who concentrate too much on just cycling. It stresses well the need to look after your body with cross-training, strength training, stretching and massage.

The book makes good use of interviews too, with each chapter closing with in-depth interviews of many significant “older” cyclists (most of whom I admit I was not familiar with). Some of these though I found too long.

So, in summary a good book to have on your shelf, but one which I started with the intention of reading fully, but ended up skipping through towards the end. My only other complaint is the complete lack of diagrams and pictures, which would have been helpful in many areas especially when describing exercise and stretching techniques.

4 Responses to “Book Review – Bike for Life”

  1. Pippa Says:

    Love your book reviews, Andrew, and certainly a book I could look into, being a n00b. =)

    Just started doing frog squats again, to strengthen my legs, which to me is a great next step from ‘just’ cycling.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Is cycling and impotence an uncommon topic or uncommon symptom for cyclists?

    For your sake, I hope it’s the latter!

  3. harry @ GoalsOnTrack Says:

    Great review.

  4. Karen Says:

    There is the most adorable senior couple who ride miles together on the paths I ride. I hope I will still be riding at their age.

Leave a Reply

