Freakin’ traffic …

I’m not sure what the suburb you live in is like, but in mine traffic is becoming a freakin’ nightmare. You really notice it now that school is back. From where we live there is only one major arterial road (Mickleham Rd) that heads towards the city (Tullamarine Freeway), and with the ever expanding number of new property subdivisions appearing out this way, it is only going to get worse.

I was going to ride my bike today, but decided not to as I had a late meeting scheduled that was going to keep me behind tonight at work, and there was rain and thunderstorms forecast for “late afternoon”. As I drove out of the suburb this morning, and hit the traffic snarl in the first kilometre I rued my decision. It is a 9km drive to work, and this morning this took me 29 minutes to drive. I can easily do it on my bike 10 minutes quicker than that. And to rub it in, my late meeting got cancelled, and there is no sign of the rain or thunderstorms yet (and it is after 8pm).

I needed a run tonight when I got home, just to blow the cobwebs (and stress) away. I opted for just a 6km loop as it was still surprisingly hot and humid. I ended up doing it at just under 5:30 min/km pace which included some walk breaks in the last couple of kilometres – running is still a bit of a struggle it seems. Sweated heaps and ended up 1.2 kg lighter when I got home than when I started!

6 Responses to “Freakin’ traffic …”

  1. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Keep running. Stay off the bike for at least a month.
    That way, I can catch up in the vTdF

  2. kathryn Says:

    Melbourne traffic is freaken ridiculous. I used to work in Kew and live in Northcote. It was around 5 km to work. The traffic was so always so banked up around the freeway (not to mention all the private school mums in their Range Rovers around Kew) that I could run it in less time than I could drive. And I don’t even run fast.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    The traffic at your place sounds really annoying! I’m happy to live in a rather quiet area. Awesome you still were in the mood for a run after a stressy day! Although you wrote that running helps you with stress, I rather need rest then. If I want to run, I need to feel somewhat energized before to have the strength to start. I’d love to be in the state that running actually gives me energy instead of taking it.

  4. Carla Says:

    Our areas here are getting really crowded too. That’s one of the reasons that I am hesitant to bike ride on the roads around here. I can’t wait for spring though so I can start running outside again!!!

  5. Em Says:

    Not terribly bad for me (Blackburn), but I do tend to drive to work insanely early (6;15am would be the latest I leave) so it’s usually just me and tradies and I am generally on the road back before the worst of peak hour starts.

  6. Ewen Says:

    I’m lucky in that I can get onto a bike path 100m from my front door. Just have to dodge the occasional broken glass. I’m very nervous about riding on the road these days.

Leave a Reply

