Concrete slab …

Well, the concrete slab is down, phew … that’s one day I’m glad is behind me. I don’t know why, but I’ve been stressing about this for days, but in the end it wasn’t too bad. Chris and I went out early to get some “reo” (reinforcing steel) and a couple of other things, and the mini-mix truck arrived a bit after midday. I was just the barrow-boy, and Chris did most of the actual concreting. It’s amazing how heavy a wheel-barrow full of wet concrete is. As I was tipping the third load into the pour area, the handle slipped out of my hand and flew up and smacked me on the side of the face. I have a massive cut inside my cheek now, really sore. I guess it could have been worse, I could easily have lost a tooth or something.

Just as we were finishing the rain started, so we had to rig up a couple of tarps to try and keep the rain off. This was trickier than the actual concreting, setting them up so that they protected from the rain, but didn’t actually drag into the wet concrete. More rain forecast tomorrow so I think I’ll leave them there for at least another day.

Anyway, Chris has done a nice job on the slab, but it has already been christened with some Jackie “paw prints” (yes, she managed to find her way in under the tarps). Not to worry, I think that adds character!

I headed out for a bike ride at about 5pm, planning to do one of my time trial rides (5km splits in 11 minutes). I failed on the fourth 5km split, just missing out riding 11:02. Even though it was a tough ride due to being very windy, this disheartened me and so I headed home, making it a 23km ride, average speed about 27 km/hr. Bright side was I got home in time to see Geelong win their way through to the next round of the NAB Cup.

Oh yeah, we watched the NBA All-Star Weekend slam dunk competition while we were having lunch. Impressive athleticism I must say. The three memorable dunks for me were the two balls in two different side by side rings, the three balls in one ring dunk and the one where he jumped over a car! I’d like to just be able to jump high enough to dunk one ball!

7 Responses to “Concrete slab …”

  1. Beki Says:

    Ooh ouch! Hope it heals up quickly, I’m sure a nice glass of wine should help speed the process along 😉

  2. katsmumblings Says:

    Maybe you should try slam ball.. It’s played on foxtel sometimes – they jump from one trampoline to another and shoot hoops. looks like fun and potentially dangerous, but you can definately dunk coming off a trampoline.

  3. Ewen Says:

    Yes, the perils of concreting. I remember those heavy wheelbarrows! You should have written your initials and date in the concrete — my Dad always used to do that.

  4. sassydrcil Says:

    yeow! poor andrew!

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Are you expandig your house? Building is so exerting and sometimes really dangerous. My dad got a splinter into his eye when my parets where renovating their house, and it was close to going blind. Thank goodness you haven’t lost any teeth!

  6. Rachael Says:

    Must feel nice to get so much accomplished this weekend! Sorry about your injury, consider it a battle scar. I am looking forward to following your training for the TDF. Maybe it will motivate me to get a bike when the weather gets a little warmer. Every year I contemplate this and haven’t followed through yet. This may be the year. Have a fantastic week, I hope the weather cooperates with you. 🙂

  7. Pippa Says:

    Hope you are healing up, Andrew! Suburban life is STILL a jungle, eh?

    When my son was a toddler, his granddad had a concrete slab put in front of the garage, and let him make hand prints in it. To this day when we visit granny (grandpa has passed on) we check those two little hands. Next to my son’s big teen hands they make for a sweet memory. And of course he loves being immortalized in cement!

Leave a Reply

