Look after your body …

I ride my bike a lot these days, and run a bit too, but I think that probably the most important exercise I do is my home workouts. These are a mixture of stretching, self-massage (using a foam roller and The Stick), core exercises, free weights and some other exercises specifically recommended by my physio for strengthening my glutes, calves and vmo. I firmly believe that being fairly good about keeping these up over the last year or so, along with limiting the running a bit, are the main reasons that I have stayed relatively (compared to the previous 12 month period) injury free. I still need to lift my game slightly to get myself up to my monthly goal of 12 sessions and 6 hours of total exercise time for my home workouts though.

Today, the ride to and from work (23km) and a short (20 minute) home workout made it into the training journal.

After work another Bunnings trip (they’ll need to issue me shares soon, or at least frequent visitor status) to buy some wood. I discovered when concreting at the weekend that the small door under our house is rotten, so I need to make another one. Does the list of jobs never end?

4 Responses to “Look after your body …”

  1. twocatz Says:

    I am so bad at stretching, its a wonder my hamstrings dont snap they are that tight 😮

  2. katsmumblings Says:

    No. The list never ends… unless you sell your house and then a new one starts at your new house.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Looking after ones body … This is so important! Massage, stretching, and yoga are things I do myself a lot, and it really helps me to feel better. I also try to keep me warm and active with walking etc. Still, I know I could do more for my body. Get more sleep, for example. 😉

  4. Ewen Says:

    No. If you own a house, it never ends!

Leave a Reply

