An easy 10km “heart rate” run

I decided yesterday that today was going to be a “run” day, with the plan being to get up and run early. As usual I just stayed in bed, so was determined to get out and run tonight. I really wanted to try a really easy paced run, so decided to leave the Garmin on the heart rate screen and try and keep my heart rate under 140 bpm. I knew that if I could see the pace screen I would inevitably go faster. It was a great run. I did sneak over 140bpm a few times, I found it really difficult to stay under while running up hill, and on one occasion got carried away when Sex Pistols “No Feelings” came on the iPod. But, I ended up with an average heart rate of 136bpm, and I did 10km for the first time since the Melbourne Marathon 10km race last October.

With the exception of a bit of tightness in the calves it felt pretty good. Considering I’ve struggled on a few 6km runs recently, just slowing it down a bit felt much better. Anyway, it ended up being 10.2km at 6:30 min/km pace.

This run made me feel better about R4TK, which I have decided is just going to be a “fun run”, that is just enjoy the day, no pushing for PBs or anything. Anyone looking for a social, chatty R4TK run?

Another short home workout with the emphasis on stretching and self-massage, focussing on the calves.

A slightly better day at work today. Can’t put my finger on why I feel that, it just was.

5 Responses to “An easy 10km “heart rate” run”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    you can run with me, if you want to get a PW. I plan to do some “training” between now and then.
    no, the waddling uphill was walking astride the bike when I couldn’t get the bike up the hill.
    What gears for uphill?

  2. Pippa Says:

    Bwahahaha, ‘social’ and ‘chatty’ will NEVER be words I can use in the same sentence as ‘run’, Andrew, you crack me up! But seriously, RESPECT!

    I take it if you can run uphill and downhill then your bum knee is behaving again?

  3. Rachael Says:

    It’s so great when those days come along and our workouts just flow. Sounds like you are getting into the groove and will for sure be ready for the big event! 🙂

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Very interesting! I was never good at running at school, but still I always wished I’d become a runner one day. The idea of running awakens associations of inner peace – you know, the calmness, the nature aound you and the street before you, being in connection with and feeling your body … (Maybe I have an overly romantic concept of running. ;))

    However, back in school, it was always about speed. The faster you were, the more credits you got. And since I’m ambitious by nature, I tended to run too fast even later on.

    With running, I’ve always made the experience of missing stamina. Usually, I’m exhausted after 10 minutes and can’t go on. But I remember that there was one run when I took it VERY slowly, and I was able to run for 45 minutes that way. It was awesome!

    I try to get into running a few times every year, but I never sustain … I think my ambitiousness got my and I pushed too much. (It’s always like this: I *finally* go for a run, and I push and go straight for 30 minutes, and afterwrds my body hurts so much that I can’t almost move for 3 or 4 days, but I’d wish to have a follow up the day after to establish some routine … which is invented by the pain. So have to rest for a couple of days until the pain has left me, and then I’m out of the spirit again.)

    Actually, I’m thinking about a new running attempt a lot these days. The next time, I’ll try it with less pushing, and just run very relaxed for a rather short time, and I hope that will work. I just wish so much to get into it finally! Running is so cool! 😀 So, I’ll try your laid back approach next time. Thank you for the reminder! (And sorry for the novel. :?)

  5. Ewen Says:

    I would if I were living in Melbourne 😉 As all my runs are low HR at the moment. 10k is a good distance for such a run. Agree it’s hard to keep the HR down on uphills — I often end up stopping and walking if the HR gets too high.

Leave a Reply

