My bike …

I was struggling to think of a topic today for today’s post as it was just another normal work day, including a 23 km ride to/from work. Then Rachael commented and asked me what sort of bike I had.

I have two bikes. One is a steel framed hybrid that I’ve had for about 25 years. It was a critical part of my early weight loss journey, but now doesn’t get ridden much at all, and is looking decidely worse for wear. I think it needs to be donated to one of those programs that do up old bikes for disadvantaged people.

My “real” bike is a Shogun Ninja road bike that I bought in April 2007. It has carbon forks and seat stay and a Shimano 105 group set. For me I think a road bike was the right choice and I absolutely love riding it. However, I have been thinking a lot about buying a mountain bike recently as I think I would like to go off-road for a bit of variety and additional challenge. I have a sneaking suspicion that these thoughts might materialize into action in the next few months.

That’s me in the middle, finishing the 2010 Great Ocean Otway Classic ride.

And now, just because you can never have “too much” information, here’s a few other things my training journal spreadsheet tells me;

  • I bought it on 7th April, 2007
  • Since then I have ridden it 17,149 km
  • I have spent just under 683 hours in the saddle to clock up that distance
  • My average speed over that time is 25.1 km/hr
  • My fastest speed I’ve done is over 78 km/hr (stupid, I know)
  • Average duration of a ride is just over one hour
  • I now use Continental Gatorskin tyres. The most I’ve got out of a Gatorskin tyre is 4,209 km, I’m averaging about 3,396 km on each
  • On average I get a puncture every 1,143 km
  • MTBF (mean time between failure) for punctures is 95 days, but at the moment I haven’t had one for 195 days (overdue, and have now definitely guaranteed I’ll get one soon by writing this)

Is there anything else you’d like to know?  🙂

6 Responses to “My bike …”

  1. Rachael Says:

    Thanks for the information. It was extremely helpful. Do you know much about mountain bikes. If I am going to have 2 bikes I would like a mountain bike as well since we have so many trails in our canyons. I do get excited for my next trip to the gym. Today I am hurting from my last 2 workouts and I am still trying to figure out what time will I make it to the gym today. The pain will not hold me back. If anything the cardio will be helpful.

    You crack me up Rafael…I don’t think I noticed it until you said something. I have been called worse. HEHE!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Wow, that’s quite a devotion to the bike, I’d say! 😉 My own one is roasting in the garage … This remembers me of that I have to give it into makeover as soon as it gets warmer so I can ride it again! In the summer, I actually like to use my bike instead of taking the tram all the time.

    Where I live (Heidelberg, Germany), it’s ver hilly, and whenever I go for a (workout-like) walk in the Odenwald (the mountain range that is all around), I see a lot of bikers. They’re real mountain bikers because there’re a lot of steep climbs around here everywhere. I always admire the people who do that! I’ve done mountain biking a few times, but I’ve always liked the downhill parts WAYYYYYY better! 😉

    Great job on the cycling! 78 km/hr, that’s something! 😯

  3. JH Says:

    Andrew – have you had to replace your bike seat? I notice the stitching in mine is coming loose (that’d be from my fat a**e).

    Kath – your bike is roasting in your garage? How how is it in there?

  4. Ewen Says:

    How many stacks have you had and what’s the worst one?

    I still have a Raleigh 10-speed from my high school days! Also a Cannondale road bike from when I was into Tris and an old mountain bike. Would like to upgrade the latter, as mountain biking is fun, and safer too as you’re not mixing it with traffic.

  5. sassydrcil Says:

    Fat arse John, really, you are quite the story teller 🙂
    Andrew, you really love spreadsheets, don’t you?

  6. morseyruns Says:

    I have a MTB and a road bike- and I love both of them! I love going off road- and I think when Lysterfield Park has recovered from the flood damage you should get out for a run then a ride!

Leave a Reply

