100,000+

Headed out for a ride tonight after dinner. As I’m starting Stage 7 of my virtual Tour de France, and that was the first mountain stage of the 2010 tour, I thought it only fair that I should seek out some hills. As I’ve said before, not too many long hills around my area, but I did a couple of loops that contained the longest steepest hills there are close to my home. It was getting dark by the time I got out, so it wasn’t a long ride – just under 20km in just over 50 minutes.

As you may notice from the counter to the right (unless you’re in a blog reader of course), my blog ticked over the 100,000 hits milestone yesterday. Given that when I started this blog just over 4 years ago, I thought that there may be 5 or 6 people who may read it, and that I’d probably fizzle out writing it in a short time, to reach 100,000 hits is just mind-boggling to me.

I started the blog mainly to hold myself accountable to my health and fitness goals, with the overriding goal of maintaining my weight loss. It has definitely achieved that, and so much more.

There are so many of you out there, many of you over the other side of the world, some just down the road, who I’ve met via the blog and who I am now proud to call my friends. I get so much unwavering support, camaraderie and friendship through this blog that is so important to me and helps me so much to maintain my healthy lifestyle and keep up my spirits.

So, thank-you to you all for reading, and especially to those who comment, and to all of you out there who write your own blogs from which I get so many ideas, positive thoughts and inspiration. Looking forward to many more years of keeping our respective blogs active, and one day meeting a lot more of you face-to-face maybe!

9 Responses to “100,000+”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    awwww *hug*

  2. Pippa Says:

    Wow, that’s COOL, Andrew! CONGRATULATIONS!

    (And I’m glad you mentioned the counter, because it made me realize that arriving at a specific blog post through my RSS feed strips all those extra side bar goodies. Now that I’ve checked your main page, I’m happy to see so much additional inspiration to investigate, lucky me!)

    Thank you for the inspiration, motivation and encouragement you offer up – your impact is greater than you can know. I know for sure that I wouldn’t have driven myself so hard in the vTdF this week if it weren’t for you checking in on me last week, and riding right behind me this week.

    Now I’m off to read all the other pages I’ve been missing! =)

    (Oh, and btw: it’s England vs. South Africa in the ICC World Cup this Sunday – guess we’ll be cheering from different sides of the ocean!)

  3. Rachael Says:

    I started my blog for many of the reasons you did for accountability and fitness goals. I am already getting so much more than I ever imagined. To be connected to people from so many places is amazing. 100,000 hits is so cool it is a credit to your writing and your progress. Thanks for adding me to your blog roll and if it alright with you I will do the same. Have a great weekend!

  4. JH Says:

    A few hundred of those are me.

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Congratulations! That’s just awesome!

    As you know, I’ve experience incredible support by my blogging friends myseld lately. (You’ve been part of it! :D) It’s amazing, and not less real than “reality”. In fact, in my few months of blogging so far, I have met so many great people like I have never in real life in a comparable time. It’s such amazing inspiration!

    I absolutely admire your biking! I wish I will find enjoyment in exercizing like you do one day. My back would be so happy! 😉

  6. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Congrats on a really cool stat! I’m so grateful to have found your blog!

  7. Elise Lowerison Says:

    I just came across your health and fitness blog. Your article about your virtual route for the Tour de France was especially interesting. I especially liked your comments about getting through the massive hills and inclines to push to the next point. I am adding you to my favorites. Since you and your readers are interested in health and fitness, we thought you would like to check out our ab workout machine called The AbStand. The AbStand is a full-body workout machine that provides an easy way for you to get a superior work out in the comfort of your own home! Any feedback would be appreciated as well. Thanks!

  8. Ewen Says:

    589 over 100,000 is a big tick 😉 Nice going Andrew. Have you come across this blog? http://iamthenewme.com/ Another big transformation through running.

  9. Karen Says:

    What an exciting milestone! I had no idea when I started blogging that there was this amazing community. Love it.

Leave a Reply

