A much better day !

Today was a much better day at work, one of the best I’ve had for a long time. Mostly due to a three-minute interaction with one of my staff. At the start of February a reorganisation in my team meant that a small group of my staff, who had not previously reported to me directly, became direct reports to me. Today, one of them came into my office and told me that they had been talking amongst themselves about how happy they were. He told me that they all felt I was “on their side”, and “there to support them”. After thanking him, I asked him what it was I was doing right. He said he didn’t really know, just the way I talked to them and related to them, and that I’d specifically been asking them about how I could help them, making their jobs easier and allowing them some flexibility in how they work. I told him that this was my job. Later I thanked him for his feedback, and told him he had made me happier at work today than I had been for a while.

It is amazing how much a simple interaction like this can lift your spirits, isn’t it!

And then today Cilla refers to me on her blog as a “benevolent father figure”. I would’ve been happier with “benevolent older brother” or something? I guess technically I am easily old enough to be Cilla’s dad, but did this need to be pointed out to me? Then I realised that “benevolent” means “characterized by, or expressing good will or good feelings” or “desiring to help others, charitable”, so again my spirits rose.   🙂

To top it off, a very pleasurable 8.2km run after work, at 5:25 min/km pace, but very happy because it felt fairly relaxed and easy, and the legs feel good afterwards.

And it is the weekend! Have a good one everyone!

And, I know I shouldn’t start off sentences with “and” – it is a bad habit I have.

5 Responses to “A much better day !”

  1. Em Says:

    Be flattered, it takes alot to be a good Dad and from what I’ve read you seem a pretty damn good one 🙂

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    Story for over alcohol, but I never really had a father figure, I am eternally grateful for good male role models I have had, including your good self.

  3. Pippa Says:

    Wow, I take my hat off to anybody who can act in a supervisory capacity AND then get such an awesome compliment. You can feel really good, Andrew! (Especially since work has been so stressful lately.)

    Awww, so should we call you ‘Dad’? =) You’re too young to be a father figure to me, LOL. But encouraging? Most definitely.

    Have a fantastic weekend!

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I think these are some of the greatest compliments you can get. I also believe it’s because you care in such a kind way. Happy to have met you! 🙂

  5. twocatz Says:

    Good one Dad

Leave a Reply

