Addicted

Ok, I admit it, I have an addiction.

An addiction given to me by my son.

It’s Metallica.

Ever since he took me to the concert last November, it has been pretty much all I’ve listened to. I guess that is the advantage of “finding” a band late in their career, there is a lot of music to catch up on.

The CD of the concert we went to in Melbourne has occupied 2 slots of the 6-CD changer in my car since the day following the concert, and has been “on” for at least 90% of the time since then. I have been in trouble a few times from my darling wife when she has gotten into the car after I’ve been driving it, turned on the ignition and got blasted by Metallica at high volume.

Every home workout since Christmas has been accompanied by the Francais Pour Une Nuit concert DVD that Chris bought me for Christmas. If you are a Metallica fan and don’t have this DVD, or are not yet a Metallica fan and want to get a DVD to try, get this one. It is awesome. From the recent Death Magnetic tour, it is from the Arenes de Nimes, a magnificent old “gladiator” stadium, what a setting!

Painting, gardening, mowing the lawn, washing the dishes, running, you name it and I have done it accompanied by Metallica.

I do have a habit of becoming consumed by things and this is certainly one case.

If I was going to have a man-crush (which I’m not), James Hetfield might be the subject.

A beautifully sweaty 45-minute home workout tonight, including two seven and a half minute sprints on the exercise bike accompanied by the below track, “All Nightmare Long”. If you want a music track to make you go fast, check out this one. The speed that their hands fly across the guitar strings makes me tired just watching.

Sweat = Bliss.

9 Responses to “Addicted”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    You are totally on your own there with the Metallica thing- I mean I love Enter Sandman, but I can’t take the next step. LOL about your wife getting blasted by the stereo- we used to rig our cars for the next shift at work by turning everything up loud, windscreen wipers on etc as well as the siren for whomever turned the ignition on next. It certainly wakes you up!

  2. Ewen Says:

    Ha! Just like that Hyundai ad where the bloke drives into the front yard grooving to some rap tune blasting on the radio. Metallica are OK, but I prefer the melodies of Led Zeppelin. And thanks for that one — you’ve cured my tinnitus 😉

    • Em Says:

      That’s The Message by Grandmaster Flash, an absolute CLASSIC!!

      Don’t push me coz I’m close to the edge, I’m tryin not to loose my head

  3. Carla Says:

    I LOOOOVE Metallica! My husband loves them and so do my three boys!!! I also listen to music when I’m doing things like washing dishes or folding laundry or cooking or baking or anything else.

  4. chrisfit2009 Says:

    I can see it now, Andrew riding his bike down the Great Ocean Road, ipod on, legs pumping away…almost as fast as his head his banging

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Metallica is great! I’m not that much a fan, though, but they’ve made one of the most perfect songs of all time – Nothing Else Matters – which I’ll never get tired of listening to.

  6. JH Says:

    Really??? Metallica??? Let me quote to you some lyrics from their latest album, which I’m sure you know:

    “Crushing metal, Ripping Skin
    Tossing body mannequin
    Spilling Blood, Bleeding Gas

    Mangle flesh, Snapping spine
    Dripping bloody valentine
    Shattered face, spitting glass

    Split apart
    Split apart
    Split apart
    Split
    Spit it out!”

    That’s poetry.

  7. Sharon in Melbourne Says:

    I don’t know what their music is like but I am sure there was a song years ago about a sandman or something? I liked that one.

    Man crush? hehehe that gave me the giggles!!

  8. offthelongrun Says:

    Mate,
    I fell asleep to Metallica on the HK to LHR leg of my last trip to the UK for about 5 hours – It brings back sad memories. I also struggle with their version of Segers “Turn the page” fo obvious reasons.

Leave a Reply

