Snake in the grass …

I went for an early (6:30am) run with Alex this morning. We met at Boeing Reserve and ran the hilly little 8km loop that I have run many times with Deb. We took it nice and easy and ran at “conversational” pace, finishing up with just under 8km at about 5:55 min/km pace. I’m sure that if I examined my heart rate chart carefully I would see a little “blip” on the chart at about the 4km mark as I jumped over a snake in the short grass I was running on. It still wasn’t completely light so I didn’t see it until I was just about to step on it, so I lengthened my stride and jumped a bit. I didn’t stop to look, but I suspect it may have been dead as it didn’t move as we approached, or as I jumped over it. It’s also a bit unusual for snakes to be out that early I think. Still, dead or not, it still gave me a fright!

John, you made that comment on yesterdays post like there was something wrong with those lyrics? I agree though, it is pure poetry!

Chris, you won’t see me headbanging to Metallica on my bike, running yes, possibly even a bit of air guitar, but listening to music while riding the bike is a bit too dangerous I reckon.

Kath, I totally agree. Nothing Else Matters is an absolutely beautiful (not a description you’d expect to use of Metallica) song. One of my absolute favourite songs.

Sara and Sharon, you both mention Enter Sandman, another one of my favourite Metallica songs. There is a part of the Enter Sandman lyrics that go;

Hush little baby don’t say a word,
And never mind that noise you heard,
It’s just the beast under your bed,
In your closet, in your head.

This always reminds me of when I was little (6 or 7), and my darling little brother brother who is 15 months younger than me, used to scare the living daylights out of me as we lay in bed, by describing all the monsters and bad creatures that were under the bed or in the closet. It’s funny how some songs can evoke such strong memories isn’t it. Do you have any songs that have particularly strong memories for you?

The other highlight today was the culmination of a particularly good game of Words With Friends where the lead was changing with each turn towards the end. Cilla ended up beating me 309-302, so well done Cilla!

4 Responses to “Snake in the grass …”

  1. JH Says:

    I was thinking of nominating your man-crush for a Nobel prize for literature.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    It was a deathmatch. Good game indeed šŸ™‚

  3. Carla Says:

    My mom and me have been playing WWF for a long time! We always have two games going at the same time. I just beat her on the last six games we played! Lol

  4. Em Says:

    I’ve got Enter Sandman on my iPod and when it plays in the car I turn it up really really loud and sing, really really badly šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

