Tone set early …

The tone of today was set early. Shitful traffic again, it was a crawl pretty much from door to door. Took me 35 minutes to drive the 9km to work. Another uninspiring, very busy, but less than fruitful day at work followed. Then slightly less shitful, but still shitful, traffic on the way home too.

Rain again kept me off the bike, and it started to rain heavily as I got home so I didn’t bother with a run either. After what seemed like about four loads of dishes and some dinner I got through a 45 minute workout, with “got through” being a good description, it didn’t feel good tonight. Sometimes even the exercise endorphins give up the fight against the negative energy.

Sleep, then we have to do it all again. Do you ever ask yourself why we are bothering, or if there is anything better out in front?

One of my work colleagues loves the phrase “choose your attitude”. Tomorrow I choose “happy and energetic”, let’s see it it works.

7 Responses to “Tone set early …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Hope you have a super day tomorrow Andrew- and if not, then give in Friday and take the day off.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    SSDD (same shit different day).
    This is why I like doing the study as well as the work.
    Take care.

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    Choose your happy attitude…..by being on speed.
    You need to have a think about:
    -what is most important to you.
    -how does your current job help or hinder that
    -if it helps, or is neutral remember this. (ie the job sucks but it pays for the bike and the runners so I can do what I like to do)
    -if it hinders, you need to consider how long you can tolerate it, and what the feasible alternatives are.
    You know, you can do personal training courses on line in the evenings. My sister is doing this.

  4. JH Says:

    A guy at my work has a desk calendar thing that has a different mood on every day. Every time I go past I set it to “grumpy” just to see if it actually makes a difference.

  5. Louise Says:

    choose: “I love to run in the rain”… because, really, it’s not cold, and you get to play at being a kid again running through puddles and generally getting pretty filthy.

    Plus, your wife will hate it when you come in afterwards and give her a big wet hug! 🙂

  6. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Ah yes, one of those “Is this really my *life*?” days. Definitely time for a perspective check and choose something (anything!) to be happy about. If anyone can turn it around, it’s you!

  7. Ewen Says:

    Life is not a box of chocolates. On those days I just go through the motions and get it done. Good idea not to ride in unsafe conditions though… Terrible news overnight about Sally Meyerhoff. Whatever you do, ride defensively. Don’t ride through stop signs to beat traffic.

Leave a Reply

