A busy Saturday

At weigh-in this morning I was up marginally (400g) on last week, at 70.7kg.

I headed out on the bike early (just before 7:30am) planning a two-hour ride. I rode down the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail for an hour (making it from my place in Greenvale to the wonderful yellow and red sculptures all we Melbournians love so much at the Flemington Road end of the Tullamarine Freeway. It took me slightly longer for the return trip, and I ended up with 50km in about 2:07.

Along the way I passed the spot where I jumped over the snake the other morning on my run with Alex. It was still there, but just a shed snake skin. Still it looked like a snake in the semi-darkness of the early morning!

Two shopping trips followed. Lamanna for the food shopping before lunch, and Costco after lunch, primarily for the bulk paper products (toilet paper, tissues and kitchen paper) plus a few other things such as the mega-sized jar of Skippy peanut butter I love so much! Costco was crazy busy, especially the car park! Blown away by the people in front of us at the cash register who with two trolleys full got a cash register bill of just short of a thousand dollars.

At home, I gave the bike a bit of a service, then it was time to cook tea (home made hamburgers on the BBQ) in time to play taxi for Chris, taking him into the Melbourne Storm game. With the Storm game at AAMI Stadium, Neil Diamond at Rod Laver Arena and Moomba going on, the traffic was crazy. Depressing thing is, in about an hour I have to head back in to pick him up. Sometimes I think we’re too nice to our kids!

2 Responses to “A busy Saturday”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    You are a great dad! But having travelled regularly on the trains at night I can understand why;)

  2. Rachael Says:

    Playing taxi takes up so much of my time. It’s funny I don’t remember my parents doing the same for me. I took the bus where I wanted to go. I don’t think my kids would know how to use the bus LOL!. Sometimes I think I created a monster and it is too late to make a change. Oh well not much longer and they will both be driving. A little stuck because I don’t want time to move too fast. Am I never happy…HEHE! Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

