300 weeks …

As I have mentioned many times on this blog, one of the things with which I credit my successful weight loss and maintenance is keeping my training journal spreadsheet. Over the years, it has really helped me keep track of many of my exercise related goals, and helped me maintain my consistent exercise routine.

We are taught to make our goals SMART, and with the M meaning “measurable”, keeping an accurate log of your exercise makes this much easier.

Today is significant because it marks the end of the 300th week that I have been keeping my training journal.

Over that time I have;

  • Recorded 1952 hours of exercise, including 594 hours of running, 807 hours of bike riding, 140 hours of swimming and 228 hours of home workouts.
  • Run 6,241km and ridden 19,863km.
  • Burnt 1.17 million kCals.
  • Averaged 8.3 exercise activities, 6.5 hours and 3,881 kCals per week.

So, if you are trying to lose, or maintain your weight, and you don’t track your exercise, my advice is to start doing so now! Remember, consistency is the key.

Run For Japan

All you runner’s out there, get out and “Run For Japan”. Click on the image above to go to the Run For Japan website.

Inspired by Japan’s great runners Run For Japan is about bringing together the global running community and showing solidarity and support through dedicating runs around the world to the people of Japan. The challenge is to cover 24,901 miles (right around the world) in 28 days with at least one run dedicated from every country in the world. To achieve this runners around the globe are being asked to dedicate just one run to the people of Japan and donate at least one unit of their home currency per mile run.

So, get out there and do it – and spread the word on your blogs too please! Thanks to Ewen for pointing out Run For Japan to me and to Kath for the Solidarity with Japan inspiration.

8 Responses to “300 weeks …”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Wow, this another great idea! I absolutely love it! Thank you! πŸ˜€

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    And another WOW: Your exercize success is AMAZING! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Congratulations on an awesome milestone, Andrew!

  4. Ewen Says:

    Thanks Andrew — that’s great!
    Agree about keeping journals/training diaries… can help in the future, and interesting to look back on. My old ones are from the days before spreadsheets and computers were invented πŸ˜‰

  5. An Assortment of Delicacies | My Funny Little Life Says:

    […] posts that will be especially interesting for all of you who are passionate about running. First, he suggested the Run for Japan project that unites runners all around the world in showing solidarity by dedicating a run to Japan and, […]

  6. lindsay Says:

    this is awesome! I’m going to go do it tomorrow!

  7. lindsay Says:

    p.s.
    Do they ask you to donate in orderto participate or is it just for solidarity reasons?

    • ajh Says:

      Lindsay, I’m sure they would be happy if you did either, but happier still if you did both. The donation is obviously to help out those in need, the run I guess, is to show solidarity!

Leave a Reply

