Versatile Blogger

I’d dropped my bike off for a service yesterday, after an early morning ride with Deb, and picked it up tonight. At the same time I purchased myself a nice new lightweight jacket – one of those that scrunches up really small and fits in the back jersey pocket.

A 6km run tonight, 5:30 min/km pace, just around the local streets.

Thanks to Rachael, who has awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you, I’m honoured!

The tradition that goes along with this award is the person awarded must list some things that people may not know about you. Here, we go;

  1. I am left / right challenged. That is, if you tell me which way to go just by saying go left, or go right, there is a 50% chance I’ll get it right (or wrong). The only way I’ve ever been able to tell my left from right is to pretend I’m writing something, then I know that is my right hand.
  2. I am generally right handed, but weirdly use my knife and fork in the “wrong” hands. This combined with number one above means it is usually not a good idea to ask me to lay the cutlery out on the table.
  3. I wear underpants under my bike shorts. Based on a conversation at the bike shop tonight, and shockingly to me, this is apparently not the norm. You other cyclists out there, do you “go commando” under your bike shorts?
  4. I once (1993-1995) collected basketball cards. I think this may have been the closest thing to an addiction I’ve ever suffered. Searching for those “special” cards became an obsession for a while.
  5. I am English by birth, born in Oxford, migrated to Australia in 1969 when my father got relocated by Ford Motor Company.
  6. I coached my kids in basketball for many years. This was a very important part of my life, an activity I really loved. My proudest achievements are the facts that my teams were always great sports, and the back-to-back Under 18 A Grade Grand Finals we won with Chris’s boys team. I only got ejected from the stadium once, and even though I shouldn’t have said it, that referee was an idiot.
  7. I tend to get a bit carried away with buying books when I get “into” something. When I gave up coaching basketball I had “collected” over 50 books on basketball coaching (which I ended up donating to the local basketball association for a coaches library). If you don’t believe that I get a bit carried away in this regard, check out my My Library page.
  8. My favourite comedian of all time is Tommy Cooper.

For today’s Solidarity with Japan item, a tribute to one of my favourite running books; “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” by Japanese writer Haruki Murakami. This is a running memoir written over a four-month period as Murakami trained for the New York Marathon. It is part travelogue, part training log, part reminiscence. It really is a wonderful little book, I’d highly recommend it. You may notice on the right hand side of my main blog page, one of my quotes is from this book; “In long-distance running the only opponent you have to beat is yourself, the way you used to be.”

8 Responses to “Versatile Blogger”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    I ALWAYS wear knickers. I was SHOCKED when my girlfriend told me about the fact that she went commando.
    Uncouth.

  2. Sheri Says:

    Congratulations on your blog award!

    I go commando under the bike shorts because I found the cotton underwear cause a lot of friction underneath when riding…no fun!

  3. morseyruns Says:

    I CANNOT believe that you don’t go commando! You.Must.Not.Wear.Underwear
    Seriously, it is a health issue. You don’t see Contador risking panty lines and massive friction issues with underwear do you?

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Hahaha, you made me laugh so much with the underwear issue! Seriously, I can’t imagine going without! 😀

    I also love that you’ve coached your kids in baseball! It’s great when you give your knowledge to your little ones! My dad taught me fishing, and I even got a fishing licence when I was 12 or 13. Now I teach my dad the piano. 🙂

    Thank you for another Solidarity with Japan sign! I’ve only read novels and short story by Haruki Murakami so far (which I liked very much, although they are disturbing sometimes), but I had no idea he also was a runner! You’ll get a double shout out in my next post! 😀

  5. Twocatz Says:

    Commando for me with running and riding

  6. An Assortment of Delicacies | My Funny Little Life Says:

    […] 28 days. Check out the official website of this project here. This is such a great idea! Second, he wrote about one of his favorite running books, “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running”, which was written by the Japanese […]

  7. Rachael Says:

    Right, left, right, left? Sometimes I have to put an L on my forehead with each hand and which ever one comes up with correct L that’s my left (if that makes any sense). I am impressed by your library. You recommended a book to me a while back, Chi Running, I mentioned it to my husband and it turns out we have it. Yea!! I love it when that happens. Now to see if it helps me to run without pain. I will have to experiment. I watch people run at the gym and they just seem to be running so smoothly…maybe I can be that way some day. We shall see.

  8. JH Says:

    So you’re some sort of cycling reverse Superman? Still I guess it’s better than wearing them on the outside.

    Seriously – ditch the y-fronts.

Leave a Reply

