Origami

A beautiful warm Sunday today. I started it with a bike ride with my mate Herb. I rode down to his place in Essendon, then we rode together down to Docklands for a coffee, then back to his place. Then I rode home. All up, just under 60km for me.

Just before leaving Herb, I was telling him how long it was since I’ve had a puncture, which was a big mistake. I did make it home, but upon checking my bike an hour or so later, my front tyre was flat. Sure enough, there was a small shard of glass embedded. I’d used two new tyres for Amy’s Ride in January, and then taken them off to get a few more kilometres value out of the old ones, and to save the new ones for next Saturdays ride, so I changed both front and back tyres. Looking at the weather forecast, there may not be much riding this week!

Then I finished off the painting I started yesterday.

After lunch we went down to Poyntons (a nice local plant nursery that also has a nice cafe) and met Herb and his wife for a coffee and also had a nice stroll along the Maribyrnong River path. We bought a few plants, including some more herbs and veges.

For todays Solidarity with Japan item, just a mention of a classic Japanese custom, the ancient art of paper folding, Origami. This brings back many memories for me because my daughter Kate was always making Origami items when she was little, especially lots of nice little boxes.

Check out this great website, and start folding!

2 Responses to “Origami”

  1. Em Says:

    I will have a crack at a crane.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Origami is so lovely! Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

