Book Review – The Rider

The Rider

by Tim Krabbe

This book, first published in Dutch in 1972, and translated into English in 2002 has become a bit of a cult classic. It is a fictional evocation of a mythical day race in the central south of France. The book is short, with little more than one page for each kilometre of the 137km Tour de Mont Aigoual. The writer does a great job of taking you inside the head of a cyclist as he thinks about tactics and strategies, recalls his earlier sporting career, thinks about cycling history, considers each of his rivals, and breaks through the pain barrier climbing up the mountains.

I’m going to keep my review as short as the book, but suffice to say I really enjoyed reading this!

3 Responses to “Book Review – The Rider”

  1. Ewen Says:

    I’ve never heard of that one. Will keep an eye out for it. Sounds like the bike rider’s version of Once a Runner, which is a great read.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    This sounds very interesting! I love when books are psychological and tactical and let you show into a person’s mind!

  3. Karen@WaistingTime Says:

    I’ll have to add this to my list of gift ideas for my husband. Sounds like something he’d like.

Leave a Reply

