An early morning, sweaty run …

I met Alex at 6:30am this morning at Boeing Reserve to do our usual 8km lap. I had told Alex I wanted an easy run, so as not to cause any bodily harm before Saturdays Great Ocean Otway Classic. Whilst we did do an easy pace (5:55 min/km), there was nothing easy about the run. I couldn’t believe how humid it was at 6:30am, there was about half of the chit-chat we had on our previous run, so I’m sure that we both found it as difficult as each other. It is quite a hilly little run, but still it shouldn’t feel that difficult, should it?

On the topic of humidity, I had real trouble with my glasses fogging up again. Does anyone have any suggestions to stop glasses fogging up?

Alex, here are the Garmin statistics as requested.

Kath has a wonderful little idea on her blog today. To encourage you to make a donation to the Japan earthquake/tsunami disaster, she is offering to do a drawing for you. I’ve just made a donation and challenged her to draw me on my bike! Be sure that this drawing will appear here at some stage in the future! I’ve also decided that this mornings run with Alex was my Run For Japan and made my donation there too. The disaster in Japan is so devastatingly large, they really need our help – I encourage you all to donate.

7 Responses to “An early morning, sweaty run …”

  1. Em Says:

    Contact lenses, that is the only solution I’ve found so far.

    It was disgustingly humid today, I was Sweaty McSweat from Sweat Town after my run today.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Thanks Andrew,
    You seemed to be handling it better than I! – good luck for the weekned

  3. JH Says:

    You need an extra stat: litres of sweat lost. In my case, it could have been measured in megalitres this morning.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I got glasses when I was 15, and I hated them! They always made me so nervous (having something in my face all the time), and they were so annoying when it rained or they got steamy while cooking 😉 or from the weather. Then, I wore contact lenses, but with the years my eyes got more and more sensitive and I couldn’t bear them anymore because they hurt so much. Two years ago, I got my eyes lasered and that was the best decision ever! But I don’t know what to do about humidity and glasses while running. 😦

    Look forward to your picture! I’ll take the small one from your header as a template, if you don’t mind.

  5. morseyruns Says:

    It was horrible and humid still this evening when I headed out. You maintained a much more brisk pace than I was capable of though!

  6. AndrewENZ Says:

    Hmm…the only solution with the glasses is to create a breeze by running faster!

    I’m afraid I haven’t solved this one yet either.

  7. chris Says:

    Humidity is always tough. Not much help here as far as suggestions for defogging. Keep on sweating

Leave a Reply

