Preparation

Another pretty ordinary day today. Tonight I started getting stuff ready for heading down to Torquay tomorrow night. I’m pretty keen to make sure I don’t forget anything after hearing the story of one of my workmates friends who rode one of the alpine rides a couple of weeks ago. He drove from Melbourne to Mt Buller the night before the ride, getting there at about 11:30pm only to realize he had forgotten his cycling shoes. He turned around and drove home, then back again to get back in time to catch about an hours sleep before the early morning ride start. I do not want this to be me!

So tonight I went to the supermarket to buy supplies (muesli bars and drinks); lubed the bike; gathered up shoes, gloves, helmet, etc; checked the bike saddle bag for tools, tubes, CO2 canisters etc; checked the race kit, got out the cycling clothes, packed the gym bag, made up some Endura. I think I’m ready.

Mark, my previous two GOOC rides have averaged 25.6 km/hr, I can’t see myself getting to 27-28 km/hr. I’ll be happy to get under 5.5 hours riding time, which will need me to chop 8 minutes off my previous best. If it is wet it will slow me down considerably as it makes it difficult for me to see well with my glasses.

Alex, I’ll be happy to hand deliver the magazines on our next run, hopefully that will be next Tuesday if I have recovered suitably.

7 Responses to “Preparation”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Thanks Andrew – have a great and safe ride – Tuesday is optional, your call, whenever you’re ready.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    good luck, Andrew.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Oh no, forgetting the cycling shoes shouldn’t happen to you! I hope you’ll have a great ride! 🙂

  4. twocatz Says:

    Have a great ride

  5. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Wishing you a safe and successful ride!

  6. Scarlett Says:

    One of my fears is leaving stuff behind or not getting to the race on time with events. It totally puts me in a panic attack! So checking is goooood 😀

    Good luck for Sunday Andrew- I wish you all the best- but know that really, you’re gonna kick ass 🙂

  7. Em Says:

    Have a ball!

Leave a Reply

