A jury reject …

As planned I got up and headed into the gym this morning, although a bit later than planned so I only had about half an hour in the gym in order to meet my court date. I did about 5 minutes each on the treadmill, spin bike, rowing machine and elliptical trainer, then spent the rest stretching. I really do prefer exercising outside (either running or on the bike) to the gym!

Then off to the County Court for jury service. There were four juries empanelled today, I made it into the courtroom panel twice, but never got selected to sit on the jury. Both were criminal cases, and the second one I was really, really glad I didn’t get selected due to the type of case it was. I realised today that I had been thinking a little lightly about jury service. Of course I always knew it was important, but actually sitting in the courtroom, listening to the cases, looking at the accused, really drives home how difficult it could really be, and what an awesome responsibility it really is. I am done now, don’t need to go back tomorrow.

After getting home I headed out for a short ride (15.5km) and after tea did another short home workout.

 

4 Responses to “A jury reject …”

  1. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I had the same experience with jury duty. At first it seemed a lark to go downtown for the day and sit around the jury room watching horrid daytime tv shows. But when the court clerk was explaining how things worked and the responsibilities involved, I saw it in a different (and more serious) light.

    I didn’t get selected either, and I was relieved.

  2. Tish Says:

    You’ve got a good attitude. You’re a good citizen. I’ve always been a “jury reject.” Every time. They find out that I did two years of law school and they don’t want anything to do with me. I’m with you, though. There are some of those trials that would be really awful to sit in on. I’m also right with you about exercise outdoors vs indoors. I can’t wait to get the okay to bike and run again (maybe 6 weeks to go).

  3. twocatz Says:

    I did get selected back in the UK, as you say the responsibilities that are thrust upon you are quite scary

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I was never called to jury duty (and I don’t think I will because the system in Germany works differently), but I can so much relate to what you wrote about how hard it is to make decisions about other people’s lives! I believe that you should go throw life without judging other people, if possible. There are too many things to consider to make a just decision, and you can never account for all of them or even know all of them. I have a hard time to make decisions that affect my own life already, so I’m happy I don’t have to take responsibility for other people’s lives – especially against their will.

Leave a Reply

