Back on the bike …

Wow, it’s been crazy busy around here. Combinations of early morning meetings at work, staying late to finish stuff and late night teleconferences at home hasn’t left much time for anything else. I haven’t posted here for three days, and haven’t even done any exercise for three days either. I’m guessing the rest from exercise won’t do me too much harm. I really appreciate those of you that checked on me via email or text to see if I was okay!

I did manage to head out early this morning for a ride, and it felt great to be back on the bike (first ride for a whole week). It was a really windy morning here so it was a tough little ride. A very enjoyable one though, that included two descents down my favourite hill with the wind at my back (first lap 74.0km/hr, second lap 77.4km/hr), and four hill repeats on “the beast” (the short but sharp – 18-19% gradient – temporary path on the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail near the Western Ring Road at Gladstone Park). So, just over 36km in a little over an hour and a half, not fast, but felt well-exercised at the end.

I’m happy to report that the lack of exercise for three days didn’t have a huge impact on my weight. This mornings weekly weigh-in at 70.7kg was only a 300g gain on last week.

5 Responses to “Back on the bike …”

  1. chrisfit2009 Says:

    No wonder you felt well exercised, 18% is bloody hard work once, let alone 4 times!

  2. Cilla Says:

    Hey, welcome back. Hope you are having a good weekend.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Whew, what a busy time you had! 😯 I actually was a little worried and thought about emailing you because you use to update so regularly otherwise, but then you commented on my blog so I knew you were okay. πŸ™‚

    I’m happy you have time for exercizing again now! I think the body can be without exercize for away without exploding fat-wise πŸ˜‰ (if you eat well), but exercize also seems to be a great outlet for you, and a possibility to find some relief from the day and get your head free, which would mean it’s about a lot more than just weight regulation. Even better that you could go for a ride again today! πŸ™‚

  4. Ewen Says:

    Hope you didn’t get too much air over those four speed-bumps at the 25k mark .)

Leave a Reply

