Recovery run and a few laughs …

The two highlights of the day came at the start and the end of today.

Firstly, an early recovery run with Alex. Our usual hilly loop of just under 8km was a little bit more painful and slower (6:02 min/km) than usual, with both of us still suffering a little (mainly in the quads) from Sundays Run For The Kids. Still, a great way to start the day.

This evening I went into the city with Chris to the Melbourne Comedy Festival and saw Glenn Robbins, Jeff Stilson and Mick Molloy. They were very funny. Amazingly this was the first time I’ve ever been to a Comedy Festival event. I’m going to try and make it an annual thing from now on. It was also very nice to run into Sara who was also seeing the same show!

The official results for Run For The Kids were out today, and being the nerd that I am, you just knew I was going to bore you with them, didn’t you.

There were 20,189 entrants in the 14.38km event, and 18,050 finishers, the average time was 1:30:59. I finished in 8,064 place overall, and in 5,860 place out of the 9,332 male finishers.

My official time was 2 seconds slower than my watch time at
1:23:41.

6 Responses to “Recovery run and a few laughs …”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Whee, good run (despite the quads)! 🙂

    I’ve never been to a comedy festival, but I’ve seen a one-man comedy show once that was very funny.

  2. Pippa Says:

    Whoah, Andrew, those are really impressive stats. Once again, congratulations! I’d be happy with just a ‘FINISHED’ … =)

  3. chris Says:

    great run. congrats

  4. JH Says:

    My time was a bit faster than I though it was going to be. I met my pre-race target, but only just.

  5. Em Says:

    And because I am a nerd I am going to note, 11% attrition, that seems pretty high! Seems a few people over estimated themselves, I wonder what proportion didn’t show up on the day compared to DNFs.

    A friend of mine placed 666th place 😆

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      I did see a few along the way in the care of medical staff, but I’m guessing that the vast majority were “did not start”, rather than “did not finish”. Maybe decided during Mona’s training that they were not ready for 14km?

Leave a Reply

