Week 1, Day 1

I met Alex at 6:30am at our usual running meeting place (Boeing Reserve, Strathmore) for our first day of our Half Marathon training plan. It was to be a 15 minute warmup run, followed by four 1km intervals at 4:30 min/km pace, with 90 second walking recoveries. It was hard work, these two old blokes were puffing and blowing a bit, I can tell you.

Here’s the graph.

I didn’t have my watch properly capturing the interval timing, but Alex did, so from his watch our 1km interval times were 4:36, 4:40, 4:40 & 4:38. So, we didn’t quite make the 4:30 target, but it was a good effort for a first session.

The rest of the day has been fairly quiet, with two shopping trips with the kids, one to Broadmeadows and one into the city.

Now hoping the Cats can pull one out over the Hawks. That would finish the long break off very nicely.

Edit: I also bought this today. Inspiration?

Edit: Chris, I forgot to answer your question. No, I don’t have any trouble rotating shoes, I just try and make sure that I don’t wear the same pair twice in a row. It was explained to me when I started running longer distances (eg half and full marathon training) that the soles of the shoes compress over longer distances and this compression can take 24+ hours to decompress, therefore risking much less support and cushioning if you use them two days in a row.

Edit: Sorry, gotta add this after such a superb effort by the boys. I love beating Hawthorn more than anyone, and this was a really special effort by the Geelong boys. Superb defence by Scarlo (in his 250th game), Lonergan and Taylor.

4 Responses to “Week 1, Day 1”

  1. Em Says:

    Nice even reps, putting my coaches hat on rather than saying XX pace I’d prescribe 4 even reps at a steady pace, hard enough so as to not talk in complete sentences but not so hard that you finish doubled over and gasping , aiming to keep each one even, rather than going too hard at the start and fading.

    So I would say that was a prefect session, good start!

  2. Twocatz Says:

    Great start to your training program. It will be interesting to see how your pace changes for the 1k intervals as you get closer to race day.

    I usually start off with a few sessions where I don’t have any set pace for my 1k intervals but like Em aim to keep them consistent. Once I have got back into the swing of things I pay a little more attention to pace.

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    good work, matey!
    Hey, I got that book too! It is good!

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Whee, good start! And inspiration is never wrong! 😉

Leave a Reply

