Book Review – Run! – 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss

Run! – 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss

by Dean Karnazes

Before reviewing this book let me say that I am a huge fan of Dean Karnazes. His accomplishments and attitude to what he does inspire me so much. So, you know already that I was always going to love this book.

It is exactly what the title implies, a collection of stories of Dean’s escapades and adventures, written in the same easily read, humorous style that was found in his first book “Ultramarathon Man”.

I think I enjoyed “Ultramarathon Man” more than this book and a couple of the chapters in this book seemed like they were there to “make up the 26” but still lots of great stories here … a highly recommended read.

Another Karnazes quote I may have to add to my sidebar is this;

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional”

He seems to be able to draw energy from the pain he feels during his long runs, a lesson I’d like to learn.

______________________________________________________

I’m feeling a little sleep deprived after a late meeting until about 1am this morning then getting up at 5:30am to go for a run with Alex. The plan dictated a relaxed 8km, and this was completed at a pleasant 5:38 min/km pace.

4 Responses to “Book Review – Run! – 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss”

  1. Ewen Says:

    According to a mate who ran with him for quite a bit (30k from memory) he’s a good bloke – very friendly and giving.

    And 5:38 ks isn’t pleasant, it’s quick!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    What a great quote! Gives me a lot to think about. 🙂

    Hats off for the early morning run after such a short night! Those mornings are the hardest …

  3. shells Says:

    I’m a big fan of Dean Karnazes too. He seems like a freak of nature (in a good way). Love your book reviews Andrew, borders/amazon/book depository make a lot of money from me after I’ve read your reviews!

  4. sassydrcil Says:

    Which DK books do you recommend for a first time marathoner?

Leave a Reply

