A tough slog …

Well, this mornings long run didn’t turn out quite as well as expected for a number of reasons;

  • Due to a small home emergency I had to cancel on Alex for our planned 7:30am run, sorry about that mate! I ended up heading out at about 10:30am.
  • I headed into Gellibrand Hill as planned, but found it to be much hillier than I thought it would be (see elevation profile below).
  • I had a few little tummy gurgles, nothing serious, but just enough to put me of my stride a bit, and to make me walk a bit a few times. Maybe that rich Italian meal out in Lygon St last night wasn’t a good idea?
  • I didn’t take the right turn at one point which ended up throwing me off my planned course.
  • My dratted Garmin turned off or something so I had an unknown length of time that it wasn’t on, meaning I really had no idea how far I’d run. I thought maybe about 2km, but based on some analysis of the map later it was only about 1.3km, so I ended up with a bit of a short run.
  • Planned pace was around the 6:00 min/km mark, but it ended up being closer to the 6:30 min/km mark.
  • I don’t think I was anywhere near well enough hydrated and felt it late in the run.

The up-side is I appear to have not exacerbated any of my niggles and have pulled up reasonably well, but I did take one anti-inflamm last night as I had a bit of soreness in my knee and shin.

I’ve done a 30-minute home workout tonight too, mainly just all my exercises to look after my legs, lots of stretching and self massage.


8 Responses to “A tough slog …”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    No need to apologise mate – I’m sure I’ll reciprocate sometime! In hindsight I’m quite pleased looking at those elevations.

  2. twocatz Says:

    It’s called training, don’t be to hard on yourself!!

  3. Eat Em Says:

    It is what it is…

    Have you ever run at Mt Macedon.
    Michelle & I plus about 7 other were there n the weekend for some course checking before a trail run in a few weeks.
    30km Sat & 20km yesterday (Sun).
    The last 2kms of the course yesterday climbs approx 400m … that is a 1 in 5 (or 20%) climb …. it hurt anf there was no running .. lol

    Eat Em

    PS The Mt Macedon Cycling Club were have a club race on Sun morning – I REALLY wish I had been on the bike instead of teh trail … I was buggered.

    • ajh Says:

      Yeah, I saw Michelle’s FB posts about that, it sounds like a very tough day at the office! I’ve been thinking about riding up and down Mt Macedon, it’s the best climb over my side of town.

  4. Miz Says:

    and methinks it is so so time for you to get pampered with a massage massage 🙂

    you.train.HARD!!

    • ajh Says:

      Miz, yeah I’ve been thinking about getting back into the massages too, but not the “pampering” kind, the sports massage kind, they are good for you, but they do hurt!

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    All these nasty little hassles … Good you got through your training well! 🙂

  6. Em Says:

    If it’s any consolation the first long run of my marathon program was 4km shorter than scheduled and an unmitigated disaster, things have gotten better since then and they will for you.

Leave a Reply

