On plan …

No posts here for a couple of days. Nothing wrong, just not much going on. Work has been pretty busy again, and nothing much else to report other than the training, which I’m guessing must be getting pretty boring, huh?

Anyway, I did swap Tuesday with Thursday, so Tuesday’s run was the “5km relaxed run” (which was completed at 5:21 min/km), leaving the “2 x 4km at HM pace with 4-5 minutes recovery” for tonight. The first task was to decide what “HM pace” meant, so I decided to use my HM PB pace which is 4:55 min/km. To be truthful, I wasn’t confident of being able to complete the two 4km intervals at that pace, but I did manage it quite comfortably. Maybe I should rephrase that, because it didn’t feel comfortable, but I did manage to go comfortably under the 4:55 min/km pace.

With a little warm-up jog to the street corner, the first 2km of the first interval was downhill, then a short flat, then the last 2km a slight incline. I completed that 4km interval at an average pace of 4:42 min/km. The 5 minute recovery was a walking recovery with a turnaround halfway through, then back the way I’d come for the second interval. This one (obviously) finished with the last 2km uphill, and by the end I was struggling to maintain the pace, and gasping a bit, but finished with an average pace of 4:49 min/km for the 4km. Then another walk home of about 400m as a cool down for a total of just over 9km.

So, happy with that, although nowhere near being able to sustain it for 21.1km. Still, we’re only in week 4 of the plan I guess.

Also a little milestone today, as my run pushed me past the 100km for the month. The first time I’ve passed the 100km in a month since August 2009.

8 Responses to “On plan …”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Nice going mate – I’m back into Saturday

  2. katsmumblings Says:

    My training has been next to non existent since I have started working again. All sounds good for you.

  3. JH Says:

    Sounds like your training is going well.

  4. Twocatz Says:

    Good effort

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aaaaaahhhhh, speaking of work … I’m drowing! Yesterday night, I wanted to write an email to my supervisor, and I feel asleep 4 times (!) while writing it.

    Yay for your training progress! 😀

  6. Bill Wallace Says:

    and damn those Cats … or, probably more appropriately …. Robbie, what were you thinking????? 🙂

  7. Bill Wallace Says:

    Andrew, what are you using for your stats above?

  8. Ewen Says:

    My advice (something I’ve only learned recently in spite of having run since ’79) would be to run the fast ks right at your realistic prediction of a HM pace (4:55s), no faster. Run faster and/or shorter recoveries (tune them a bit) such that running faster than 4:55s is impossible for the fast ks.

Leave a Reply

