HM Training – Week 5

Week 5 of the Half Marathon training plan starts today, here’s what it looks like;

  • Monday – Rest/Cross Train
  • Tuesday – 15 minute warm-up then 4 – 5 x 1 km @ 4:30 min/km with 90 second walk recovery
  • Wednesday – Rest/Cross Train
  • Thursday – 6 km relaxed run
  • Friday – Rest/Cross Train
  • Saturday – 8 km relaxed run
  • Sunday – 17 km long run

Alex and I have already decided to slow down our intervals to 4:45 min/km, so they are closer to the desired race pace, that should make tomorrow a bit easier. I think this week will get re-arranged day-to-day a bit, due to weather (rain is forecast all week) and also as I have promised Cilla I will pace her in the Williamstown Sri Chinmoy 10 km run next Sunday. That race will replace my Saturday “8 km relaxed run” so the long run will have to get done another day. Hopefully this week it will actually get done, although I am very tempted to use the forecast bad weather for Monday-Friday as an excuse for a rest week. Is that a good idea?

A hell of a day at work today (not in a good way), and just a 30-minute home workout tonight.

3 Responses to “HM Training – Week 5”

  1. Tish Says:

    Good for you with your HM training. Is your “cross training” biking? I’d think that would give your knees & shins enough of a break. I totally identified with your garage clean-out post. DH & I were going to tackle ours yesterday but opted for a bike ride instead . . . maybe next Saturday.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I hope you’ll make yourself a nice evening after that straining work day! 🙂 (I’m using the internet at uni, so I can drop by and say hello. Will be back regularly by the end of the week, I think.)

    Happy vibes to you! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    (Did you get them? :))

Leave a Reply

