Some good intervals …

I didn’t run this morning. Alex is injured so no running partner to get me out of bed, and it was also bucketing down with rain when I awoke. It was fine, but starting to get dark when I got home from work, and quite bitterly cold, but I decided to be strong and headed out to do my Tuesday interval session.

Following Ewen’s advice I decided to reduce the length of the recovery from 90 seconds to 60 seconds, as well as changing the target pace of the intervals to 4:45 min/km.

As it was getting dark and starting to spit rain as I headed out, I decided to stay quite close to home, so the intervals just ended up being back and forth along the main street just around the corner from where I live. The 1st and 3rd intervals were downhill, the 2nd and 4th intervals were uphill and the last one a mixture as I headed home.

As you can see from the below screen grab I did a pretty good job with the intervals. The 2nd one (uphill) was too fast as I started out way too fast, but the other four were within 2 seconds of the target pace. Overall just over 8km at 5:22 min/km including the walking recoveries.


It appears that some of you are having problems getting your comments to stick on my blog. I’ve checked my spam queue and there is nothing there, so I’m afraid they must have just disappeared into the ether. Don’t give up on me – keep trying! I had this problem a while back where my comments wouldn’t stick on other blogs and for some they were in spam queue, for others they weren’t, but for some reason most are okay now. Can’t explain it, sorry.

6 Responses to “Some good intervals …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    I am still here- still reading and still jealous of the pace you pull out during those intervals. Nice.

  2. Twocatz Says:

    Nice work. The parameters seems far more sensible than before

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I always tend to forget that it’s getting winter in Australia now … Running in the dark and cold is not so much fun, and when there’s rain on top if it … Eek. 😦

    I’ve also had the comment problem, but most times it was due to the spam filter. I’ll just launch this one and see what happens … Wish me luck! 😉

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Whee, it got through! 😀

  5. AndrewEnz Says:

    That’s some fantastic pace!

  6. Ewen Says:

    I like the look of those — very consistent with the pace. Hope you get the calf situation sorted. How much do those devices go for? Not obvious from the website.

Leave a Reply

