Roo spotting …

Thanks all for your advice yesterday, obviously a short rest, lighten the running load and see how I go, is the right attitude.

I have a work teleconference meeting from 10:30pm to midnight tonight, so I decided to leave work 30 minutes or so early, which allowed me enough light for a short bike ride. I decided to take the mountain bike out again and go see if I could spot a few roos. Dusk is the best time to see them, although the low light and not taking a decent camera meant poor quality photos, I’m afraid.

They are graceful creatures as they bound along, getting up to a good speed with reasonable acceleration. At one stage tonight a bunch of about twenty crossed the track in front of me. Only a short ride, but absolutely delightful riding along the park tracks as the sun went down.

7 Responses to “Roo spotting …”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aww, kangaroos! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I have late-night Skype sessions with my supervisor in NZ every few weeks. Crazy time shift! πŸ˜‰

  2. Beki Says:

    Lucky they didn’t cross too close by and knock you off your bike!

  3. shells Says:

    those photos look like paintings!

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Ahh, you also know already I’m a special fan of kangaroo ears. They have this awesome bounce-back potential when you carefully pull them to the side a little and then let go off them … (I suppose they’d hate if I came to examine if their ears bounce back as I suppose. :D) And they’re so fluffy! I want bouncing, fluffy ears like that!

    A blogging friend from Australia has sent me kangaroo cookie cutters recently, so now I can bake kangaroos! πŸ˜€

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    (Hehehe, and I know I’ve already commented on this post, but (1) they’re so cute, and (2) you’re one of my very special blogging friends, this means you get a little hello from me every day. ;))

  6. Pippa Says:

    You’ve got kangaroos, we’ve got baboons and wart hogs! =)

    Of course I find the roos totally exotic. And koalas, too! One day I’m going to visit the Lucky Country and see them in the wild for myself.

  7. Ewen Says:

    Good news re the half plan Andrew. Hope you get out for a run or two on the weekend.

    The gov has just started a cull up here – 3427 to go (not sure how they come up with that number!) – so some nature parks closed for a month. Better than starving to death or getting cleaned up by cars I guess.

Leave a Reply

