Book Review – The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling

The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling – Build the Strength, Skills, and Confidence to Ride as Far as You Want

by Edmund R. Burke and Ed Pavelka

It was Chris that suggested this book to me – thanks mate, I’m glad I acted on your recommendation.

The title of the book is accurate – it is a very “complete” book, with sections on most aspects of long-distance cycling, including;

  • Making time to ride
  • Bike handling
  • Climbing
  • Training plans for various distances
  • Gear
  • Nutrition
  • Saddle sores
  • Stretching
  • Mental strategies

And they’re only the ones I could think of as I write this review, there is much more. It is also an eminently readable book. So often I find myself flicking through books of this type, but this one I read from cover to cover.

Will I use it? Definitely. Next time I register for a long ride I am definitely going to try and use the plans to design one for myself depending upon the ride distance. I’m also pretty sure I’ll refer back to this book often. Of my cycling books, if I’m looking for something, I think this will be one of the first I look in.

One interesting tip that I’m going to try next time I need it, is to grab your upper lip and pinch it firmly when you get a cramp. Apparently for many people this provides immediate relief.

Another highly recommended read.

One Response to “Book Review – The Complete Book of Long-Distance Cycling”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I also have quite a lot of books in my fields of interest and find it very helpful to have them in my bookshelf so I can check back anytime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

