And so it begins …

Well, tonight begins one of my favorite, but most tiring times of year. The Tour de France. With most stages live TV coverage running from approximately 10pm to usually well after 2am, there is not a lot of time for sleep for the three weeks of the Tour!

Of the 27 Aussie cyclists that were a part of the Tour eligible teams, only six have been selected;

  • BMC Racing Team (Cadel Evans)
  • HTC Highroad (Mark Renshaw & Matthew Goss)
  • Saxo Bank Sungard (Richie Porte)
  • Sky Procycling (Simon Gerrans)
  • Team Leopard Trek (Stuart O’Grady)

The most notable Aussie omissions for me are;

  • Michael Rogers whose preparation for the Tour was unfortunately interrupted by a recurrence of glandular fever late last month, and
  • Robbie McEwen who was not selected in the Radioshack team.

Let’s hope we see an Aussie team get up in the TdF soon!

So, what am I looking forward to this year?

  • Cadel Evans on the podium in Paris, wearing yellow preferably
  • Mark Renshaw leading out Mark Cavendish to lots of stage wins and Cav in the green jersey in Paris
  • All the teams with Aussies in doing well, perhaps a stage win for Gerrans, Porte or O’Grady?
  • No Contador on the podium. Unlikely I know, but I don’t like him and I don’t know why.
  • All that beautiful French countryside!
  • Being constantly inspired by these amazing athletes, by their strength and endurance (especially as they climb relentlessly through the Alps and Pyrenees) and their skill and courage as they descend at speeds of 80-90 km/hr.
  • No more doping.

Roll on 10pm and the velvet tones of Phil and Paul!

The start of the real tour intensifies the pressure on my “virtual TdF” goal but a nice two hour outing on the bike early this morning ticked off a few more kilometers.

Are you a tour fan? What would you like to see?

5 Responses to “And so it begins …”

  1. Pippa Says:

    Ah, Andrew, I share your enthusiasm!

    There is literally nothing I could add to this post, except: YAY!!!!!!!

  2. Ewen Says:

    Yes, I’m a fan Andrew. Especially since they switched to 1/2 hour highlights to live coverage. Combination of great scenery, commentary and racing — can’t beat it! Love the mountain stages.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    You watch this live? 😀 I’m usually content to learn the results on the internet (you know, no tv over here ;)) I usually don’t watch sports events, except the games of the German national soccer team. 😉 My mom is a sports watcher, though. I can understand that it’s very exciting, especially when it’s your own discipline of exercise! Being overtired for a couple of weeks would be definitely worth that!

  4. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I’m not a viewing fan, but I do check for results. Lacking a favorite of my own, I’ll help you cheer for Evans. 🙂

  5. Em Says:

    And I get to break out my favourite pun of the year “I am Le Tired”

    Lame!

    I was very excited when it all kicked off last night.

Leave a Reply

