Not as planned …

Today was not as planned, for that matter neither was yesterday. Both days were originally planned to be annual leave days, but then a while back I found out that my boss was going to be passing through Melbourne today, so today’s leave got cancelled. Then late Wednesday I decided I was not as organized and prepared as I wanted to be, so I decided to cancel Thursday’s leave too. Today was the first day for about six weeks that I’ve driven to work, due to the fact that I was picking my boss up from the airport this morning. Then I arrived at work to find a message saying that his flight into Singapore had been delayed, he’d missed the Singapor to Melbourne flight and wouldn’t be arriving until 6pm. So, I’ve had two fairly meeting free days at work, am reasonably caught up, and am likely going to try and catch up with the boss for lunch or dinner tomorrow.

I bought the latest Runner’s World magazine today, and frankly felt like a bit of a fraud doing so given that I haven’t run for about six weeks. Knee is still sore, actually feels a bit worse today when I haven’t ridden the bike, maybe riding is actually good for whatever is wrong with it? Definitely a DNS for Run Melbourne.

I’m not blogging as often recently, but am enjoying Words With Friends, Hanging With Friends, Chess With Friends and We Doodle. It’s gratifying to get the notifications of turns being taken by others to realize you’re not the only one who doesn’t have a social life 🙂

8 Responses to “Not as planned …”

  1. Carla Says:

    I love words with friends too! My mom and sister and I have been playing continuously for almost 2 years! My user name is carlacoyne – hint hint!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I don’t even know what those Words with Friends etc things are! I know Doodle, but we use it as a calendar to organize experiment-related work load among student research assistents. 😉

    • ajh Says:

      Kath, these are all mobile apps where you play your friends across the Internet. Words is Scrabble-like, Hanging is Hangman, Chess is obvious, and WeDoodle is where you are given a word and have to draw it, then the other player has to guess the word from your drawing.

      • Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

        Okay, I know the games, but I had no idea there were online versions of those as well! (Ah, but I could have thought so – everything comes in an online version today. ;)) Looks like you’re far more up to date than I am! 😀

  3. Tish Says:

    I’m with you in not having run for some time (since before my surgery in March). I’m not sure it’s going to happen, but hope so. Fortunately, though, I’m able to bike with no problem. 🙂 You’re the one who mentioned Words w Friends and is responsible for getting me hooked. TiciaRoma Watch out, I have most of the acceptable 2 letter words committed to memory!

  4. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Wordswithfriends me AJH. Username: Xraychris.

  5. katsmumblings Says:

    I haven’t blogged in ages myself. I still read others from time to time to catch up. Things a little hectic at the moment and am going overseas on the 25th of this month. Sorry to hear about your non running. At least you are able to get on the bike.
    P.S. I am addicted to words with friends also user name is: Kat chicken legs

  6. shells Says:

    I’m just catching up on all the blogs, have not been blogging much myself for the past 8 weeks getting over an arch injury, so I was a DNS’er for Run Melb too.

    Hope your knee gets better soon!

    Am loving the TDF at the moment, but it means some very late nights and in turn some very hard mornings, lol!

Leave a Reply

