Funeral …

Today we went to a funeral for an elderly relative on Adrienne’s side of the family. We drove down to Geelong and went to the funeral with Adrienne’s brother Joe and his daughter Karen. The funeral was in the little town where Adrienne grew up, so there were lots of people she hadn’t seen for a long time. The funeral was very nice, for a lovely bloke who was much loved by his family and also a genuine “pillar of the community”.

There was refreshments in the local community hall afterwards and the local women had been busy cooking, there were so many lovely cakes, biscuits and other treats – and I tried most of them!

Then after spending a very long time in heavy traffic on the Western Ring Road we couldn’t be bothered cooking dinner so we bought take-away chicken and chips, and some chocolate from the supermarket too! Combine this with the fact that I’ve been a bit lazy exercise wise the last few days and I’m thinking a very long bike ride might be on the cards tomorrow!

I’m still thinking of doing something at the Sri Chinmoy Princes Park event this Sunday, probably the 10km.

2 Responses to “Funeral …”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    The Sri C!! That will be 3 years since my very first fun run (and when I very first met you).
    I hope my chest clears up for it.
    When my poppy died, all of the CWA from the grampians (it would have appeared ) cooked tasty treats. Cakies. Yumm.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Sorry to hear about the funeral! My granddad has died last year, and that was the first funeral of a closer relative for me. But it’s part of life …

Leave a Reply

