A day at the zoo …

Another day of annual leave today, and what a lovely day it was. I headed out early for a ride, a very cold and quite windy 33km down to Glenroy and back.

Then Adrienne, Kate and I went to the zoo. We are really lucky in Melbourne, we have two beautiful zoos. The Melbourne Zoo (where we went today) and the Werribee Zoo which is a more open zoo where you are taken around in a bus.

One of the main reasons for the zoo visit was because we hadn’t been using the new camera much, so Kate and I shared the new Canon DSLR and took 250+ pictures, some of the best of which are at the end of this post. Baby animals are always the cutest aren’t they? And today we were lucky enough to see a baby meerkat, a baby spider monkey and baby elephants.

It appears I was seriously kidding myself about running the Sri Chinmoy 5k or 10k on Sunday. I had my first run for 2 months tonight, the plan was to try for a 6km loop at about 5 minute pace. Well, to say I struggled would be a major under-statement. There were walk-breaks, and I ended up with about 5:45 min/km pace. During, my quads were cramping slightly, and they are now quite sore and my calves are super-tight and don’t seem to want to respond to stretching. So, Alex, I don’t think there is any point in me paying a race entry fee on Sunday. If you would like to go for an 8-10km, slow, flat run (with some stretch stops) instead I’d be up for that though. Maybe down the Maribyrnong and a coffee at Poyntons afterwards? Let me know!

Now for some zoo pictures!

7 Responses to “A day at the zoo …”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    I am going for a run with the girls in the morning – may get ugly!
    You will need to work yourself up gradually on the running – start with 10 minutes, then work up.
    I love the zoo photos.
    Cilla

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I love the zoo, and even more I love your pictures! And more and more, I feel I need a DSLR immediately because the pictures I take with my little pocket cam tend to be blurry. Would you, please, please use your camera more, Andrew? 😀 (You know, some people also take food pictures … and I’d still love to see a tuna steak you’ve grilled. ;))

  3. Carla Says:

    Lovely photos!!! Looks like a wonderful day off!

  4. JH Says:

    Don’t forget Healesville Sanctuary

  5. Liz T. Says:

    I am glad you were finally able to get out too the zoo and use your camera! Great pictures, Andrew! I especially like the meerkats and the monkeys. 😉

  6. Yogi Tea Wisdom and Birds-and-Trees Mug | My Funny Little Life Says:

    […] there is a monkey printed on it very well suits the circumstance that Andrew posted the most lovely zoo pictures on his blog not too long […]

Leave a Reply

